×

Switch Account

Modem

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-30-2013

Modem

Message 1 of 6
(1,933 Views)

The modem the Verizon seems to be weak.....must you use their modem????

 

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 631
Registered: ‎12-17-2009

Re: Modem

Message 2 of 6
(1,918 Views)

Short answer is no you do not need to use the VZ branded modem. The issue you will face is VZ may not support a modem that is not branded by VZ.  I had the Westell 7500 & it worked well for me, do you also have that model? .

When you say weak are you refering to the wireless signal?

If a forum member gives an answer you like, please give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem. Thanks !!!
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-net-Email/Fix-for-Missing-Inbox-sent-folders-etc-with-Internet-Explorer-11/m-p/647399
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,006
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Modem

Message 3 of 6
(1,906 Views)

@JOSEm441 wrote:

The issue you will face is VZ may not support a modem that is not branded by VZ.


You are close but more than likely it is: Verizon may not support a modem that is not brandand by VZ, unless you pay extra (verizon premium tech support).

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-30-2013

Re: Modem

Message 4 of 6
(1,791 Views)
I am referring to the signal. Flips back and forth from full bars to 2 and sometimes down to one
Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Ideas For Improving Wireless Networks

Message 5 of 6
(1,771 Views)

@douggernerd wrote:
I am referring to the signal. Flips back and forth from full bars to 2 and sometimes down to one

Wireless is inherently slower than wired in many instances, but there is usually something that can be done to improve things.  In your case it could be as simple as a loose connection.  Take a look at these articles:

 

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/Why-your-Wi-Fi-is-slow/td-p/534451

 

Try out the suggestions to see if things improve.  When finished and if there are still issues, report back with specific details and someone here will probably have additional ideas.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Modem

Message 6 of 6
(1,550 Views)

@JOSEm441 wrote:

Short answer is no you do not need to use the VZ branded modem. The issue you will face is VZ may not support a modem that is not branded by VZ.  I had the Westell 7500 & it worked well for me, do you also have that model? .

When you say weak are you referring to the wireless signal?


I just had to reply to this one because you say you had or have the Westell 7500>? I had two Westell 7500 and experienced all sorts of problems with it-One actually burnt up on me. The tech that brought the second said like you that it will work fine but every possible thing that's been mentioned in this thread I experienced with that model. I had to actually beg them not to bring the 7500 in to replace the second one or I would just go back to my first one which is the Westell 327 which is no longer available and I keep that as my backup. Right now I'm on an ActiontecGT784 which seems to work well. Like some of the others say replace the modem with one of theirs and you won't have to pay for it if you have problems.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.