×

Switch Account

Question on IP address please

Question on IP address please

SOLVED
Reply
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-18-2013
Message 1 of 8
(2,005 Views)

Hello, I was  checking Yahoo mail, recent activity, and there was a location, not mine,,,but matched my times I was on Yahoo. It also said something like Unknown Device.  I checked  my IP address  through the command prompt and it is different from the one on Yahoo.  Should they match??  I am not asking about Yahoo, but about the IP address.  Thank you for your helpp.

7 REPLIES 7
Contributor Supersnoop
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-16-2017
Message 2 of 8
(1,991 Views)

Try typing the following in the "CMD" prompt  tracert  yahoo then hit enter. This will show the route FIOS is taking on the internet to go from your router to "yahoo". You can choose any other location.

 

To check any IP address type this link  http://whatismyipaddress.com/ip-lookup to see where the ip address is coming from but the best choice would be https://www.whois.net/

 

I have been involved in Data SEcurity and forensics for over 20 years. I can tell you my links are safe but you should still Google "what is my ip address" , whois.net and tracert which is a command in the windows operating system.

 

Good luck

 

 

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-18-2013
Message 3 of 8
(1,981 Views)

Hi,  Thank you. When I entered tracert yahoo. I got

unable to resolve target system named yahoo

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-18-2013
Message 4 of 8
(1,979 Views)

When I went to who is this it said domain is available.

When I went to your other link.. this is part of what I received.

 

 

ISP: Organization: Services:

Verizon Internet Services
Verizon Internet Services
None detected

 

Why doesn't the IP address I found not match what is on the command prompt? Thank you so much for your help

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,757
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 5 of 8
(1,859 Views)

@cmw wrote:

When I went to who is this it said domain is available.

When I went to your other link.. this is part of what I received.

 

 

ISP: Organization: Services:

Verizon Internet Services
Verizon Internet Services
None detected

 

Why doesn't the IP address I found not match what is on the command prompt? Thank you so much for your help


 

For IPv4 - that is easy NAT.

 

http://whatismyipaddress.com/nat

 

http://whatismyipaddress.com/private-ip

 

http://whatismyipaddress.com/lan-wan

 

Only ~4 Billion IPv4 Addresses from 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255, with ~7 Billion people. on this home of ours, more computers online with more staying online (not POTs Dial-up) AND lastly more people and computers coming online.

 

I do not recall when by memory but I believe in the 1990's networking experts saw the writting on the wall as the fun/horrible thing called the Internet is/was getting more and more popular and created the thing called NAT.

 

Now, why when Verizon will on board the IPv6 Train?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-18-2013
Message 6 of 8
(1,840 Views)

dslr,.  Thank you and I know there is a lot of info and you are trying to help.

But this is way above my knowledge  and  head..

 

Have a nice day

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,379
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 7 of 8
(1,783 Views)

To answer the question directly, the IP address you'll receive from Command Prompt, will most lilkely differ from the IP address all of your Internet traffic is originating from. This is because many routers, such as the ones Verizon provides, do something called NAT. An IP address is unique to a device on the network, which might include the Internet, or your local home network. NAT allows multiple devices connected to a router performing NAT, to share one public IP address, which is what Verizon provides. The public IP address is needed in order to access the rest of the Internet. IP Addresses belonging to your local home network (LAN), those cannot route over the Internet.

 

With that said, the other issue you might be seeing is a temporary issue with Yahoo. You might also be seeing an issue with GeoIP, which is a "best effort" guess of where you are.  If you're concerned, change your password to Yahoo Mail and that will sign out all other devices which might be signed into your account. 

 

The above poster(s) provided some useful resources to obtain your real IP address. You can also go to https://www.google.com/ and simply search "What is my IP" and your IP will appear at the top of the page.

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-18-2013
Message 8 of 8
(1,778 Views)

Smith,  Thank you so much!   I have changed my password.

And  know everyone is trying to help.

 

Have a great day

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.