Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

SOLVED
Reply
Hesperus
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 1 of 18
(7,422 Views)
We are trying to get set up for remote access to our system using the Westell #7500 router.  In order to accomplish this we need Port Forwarding.  From what I understand port forwarding is not supported.  We have attempted to set up the port forwarding in the modem interface with no luck.  I have and some very knowledgeable IT people look at the system with no luck.  We have come to the conclusion that we need 3rd party hardware and/or a fixed IP address.  I cannot believe that Verizon has made something that is ordinarily so simple so impossible to do.  The only positive in all of this is that we are virtually so far off the map that there is really no risk of any intrusion from the outside world unless we invite them in.  We have built a "connected" home, but cannot connect from the outside world to control our systems.
Can this be done or do I need different hardware?
Or do I need a different DSL provider?
Verizon support has proven absoluetely useless in this regard. 
 
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Hesperus
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 16 of 18
(5,876 Views)

 

Finally got things working.  Here is what we did:

 

Westell reconfigured into Bridge Mode. (instructions on DSL Reports.com FAQ

 

Linksys Router with Mac address cloned to Westell unit.

 

I missed turning the wireless off at first and needed to redo it, but we are now into the Vantage and working on Milestone for my cameras. 

 

 

 

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
Hesperus
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 2 of 18
(7,380 Views)

Can anybody suggest alternative modem/router that would work with Verizon?  It sure looks like the Westell stuff is nothing but crap.  VERY clunky Verizon interface. 

 

I went through the setup once more with another highly qualified IT Tech and had the same result.  The Port fwding was set up properly.  The divice was found to be listening in the network.  The device could not be contacted from the outside world.  

cwc001
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-24-2010

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 3 of 18
(7,378 Views)

I've found the interface very hard to deal with, and there doesn't seem to be any support from either Verizon or Westell for any of

the "advanced" features in the 7500.  I've made port forwarding work though.

 

You aren't very specific about what services on your Lan you are trying to expose, but in no particular order here some thing that might help you out.

 

- Make sure that your 7500 firewall is set no higher than medium otherwise port forwarding isn't going to do anything at all.  

- Turn on logging so the device tells you when it blocks something.

- If you don't have a static WAN IP sign up for a dynamic dns service.

- You probably want to have a static LAN IP assigned to the service on the LAN you are trying to access.

- Make sure that the LAN service isn't running a software firewall that is blocking things.

 

 

Hesperus
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 4 of 18
(7,372 Views)

Security is set to None.  If I set to anything else my email will not function.

 

Logging is enabled and at one time it actually showed logs, but looking at it I find nothing in the logs at present.

 

From what we see we need to try a different router.

Hesperus
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 5 of 18
(7,371 Views)

When testing we used Shields Up and found nothing.  No vulnerability, nothing to indicate that it was even listening.

 

Within the LAN the device was located and found listening.  

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,052
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 6 of 18
(7,360 Views)

#1 In the router go to Advanced -> IP Address Distribution

 

#2 What is the DHCP Range of the router?

 

#3 When you forwarded your ports, what IP Address did you try to forward to?

 

#4 In the router go to Advanced -> UPnP.

 

#5 Turn that feature off if you do not have at least two game consoles behind this router.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Hesperus
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 7 of 18
(7,305 Views)

Start= 192.168.1.15  end = .47

 

My device is .10

 

UPNP is not checked enabled

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,052
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 8 of 18
(7,295 Views)

Ok.

 

#1 You are forwarding to to 10?

 

#2 What software firewall is on your computer?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Hesperus
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 9 of 18
(7,293 Views)

Yes fwd to port 10

 

The device is not a PC it is actually a lighting/automation controller.

 

Firewall is off in the Verizon interface.

Hesperus
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Remote access/port forwarding-HELP

Message 10 of 18
(7,292 Views)

That's device at .10 not port 10

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.