Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Reply
Gio7707
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-16-2009

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 11 of 29
(1,225 Views)

Thanks so much Smith6612, do you have an email for Anthony or should I just post on the board ?? How could I get an up to date modem without charging extra ??

 

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,590
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 12 of 29
(1,224 Views)

Well,

 

If you ask Verizon nicely over the phone to replace your old Westell Wirespeed with a Westell 6100, they should probably send one out for free since you've been a customer long enough. As far a an e-mail for Anthony, he usually stops by and reads posts so I'm sure he or another Verizon employee will reach out to you at that time.

Gio7707
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-16-2009

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 13 of 29
(1,221 Views)

Ok Smith, I will ask very "nicely" ..sine I am a customer for over 10 years...thanks again for your valuable help !!

 

Smiley Very Happy

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,590
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 14 of 29
(1,205 Views)

No problem. Report back when you've got a new modem and we'll proceed from there.

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,077
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 15 of 29
(1,192 Views)

@Smith6612 wrote:
Westell used to have a utility for getting Statistics from the Westell 2100 and the older Wirespeed modems but since they were purchased by Netgear the utility is hard to find or no longer exists.

I found it. 🙂

 

To OP ( person who started this thread ) : if you desire to, you can get and post the Transceiver Statistics from the Westell 2100.

 

As how to get the Transceiver Statistics, that will depend on what other equipment you have besides that DSL modem.

 

-- Pre setup directions, regardless of what other equipment you have. This assumes that you have a Windows Computer.

 

#1 Go to dslreports.com ->  FAQs -> Verizon Online DSL FAQ -> Connection -> What is the Westell Modem Browser and how can I interpret it's results?

 

The direct URL for that page is http://www.dslreports.com/faq/16899

 

#2 Download that tool and unzip it.

 

#3 Do not install it at this time.

#4 Make sure that you know how to setup a Static IP on your computer.

a) At http://portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm there is some guides.

b) If your computer has at least two NICs, be sure to which NIC is which.
-- End pre setup - regardless of what other equipment you have. For a Windows Computer.

 

#5 If you have a RJ-45 WAN port router, most likely the RJ-45 WAN port router has a built in switch in it.

 

#6 If you have a hub/switch that is not part of a router, this what you do - Otherwise, skip down to (what to do without a hub/switch - not part of a router).

 

#7 Make that the  hub/switch that is not part of router is only connected to a power supply at this stage.

#8 Disconnect the wire from the Westell at the your RJ-45 WAN port router end.

#9 That wire, if I understand things correctly, goes to the port next to the uplink port of that hub/switch

#10 Connect another wire from the your RJ-45 WAN port router's WAN/Internet/To Modem port.

#11 The other end of the wire that is connected to the your RJ-45 WAN port router's WAN/Internet/To Modem port, connects to any other port the hub/switch but not the uplink port or the port in use by the modem.

#12 Make sure your computer(s) behind the your RJ-45 WAN port router router can still access the net.

#13 One of the reasons that I said that in step 11, is because maybe I made a mistake in step 8 - it is not the port next to the uplink port, it is the uplink port.

 -- End pre setup, if you have a hub/switch that is not part of a router.

#14 Disconnect your computer from behind the your RJ-45 WAN port router router.

#15  Setup a Static that is not in the same subnet as your RJ-45 WAN port route that wired NIC.

 

For example if the RJ-45 WAN port router's LAN IP is 192.168.1.1, then on that wired NIC...

 

IP Address: 192.168.2.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

#16 As addressed in http://www.dslreports.com/faq/7267

 


For security precautions, unbind File and Print Sharing and the Client for Microsoft Networks from the second NIC.

 

 



#17 If you don't have at least two NICs, well disable that for that NIC.


#18 Connect that wired NIC to any other port of the hub/switch but not the uplink port, port next to the uplink port OR the port in use by the your RJ-45 WAN port router's WAN/Intenet/ To Modem Port.

#19 Now Install the tool that I sent you a link to.

#20

 


Once installed, don't forget to use ** CTRL-ALT-F7 ** to reveal several "hidden" tabs, the signal levels and error counters, so forth.

#21 In the tool go to DSL tab.

#22 If your computer has two NICs, please post the info from there.

#23 If your computer only has one NIC:

a) Copy down the info from there.

b) Disconnect the computer from behind the hub/switch that is between the Westell modem and the your RJ-45 WAN port router router.

c) Connect the computer to one of the your RJ-45 WAN port router's LAN ports.

d) Change the NIC to use DHCP.

e) Then post the info that you got from there....

---- End directions if you have a hub/switch that is not part of a router.

If you don't have a hub/switch that is not part of a router, consider buying one. A cheapo 4-port hub/switch will do.

What to do without a hub/switch - not part of a router and assuming that you don't want to buy one. :smileywink:

#7 Disconnect the wire from the Westell at the your RJ-45 WAN port router end.

#8 Disconnect your computer from behind the your RJ-45 WAN port router router.

#9 Setup a Static with these settings for your computer's wired NIC.


IP Address: 192.168.1.1

Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

#10 Connect your computer using the wire that you disconnected from the Westell.

#11 Now Install the tool that I sent you a link to.

#12

 


Once installed, don't forget to use ** CTRL-ALT-F7 ** to reveal several "hidden" tabs, the signal levels and error counters, so forth.

#13 In the tool go to DSL tab.

#14

a) Copy down the info from there.

b) Disconnect the computer from the Westell modem.

 

c) Connect the RJ-45 WAN port router to the Westell modem.

 

d) Connect the computer to one of the your RJ-45 WAN port router's LAN ports.

 

e) Change that NIC to use DHCP.

f) Then post the info that you got from there....

****************

 

OR you can follow the advise of Smith6612 if you desire to...

 

^^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Gio7707
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-16-2009

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 16 of 29
(1,183 Views)

wow..keep in mind I am not an engeneer or tech specialist...I am more one of the type of "plug and play" person...however they will send me the modem and I will report back...I start liking VZ since that ..Heart

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,077
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 17 of 29
(1,163 Views)

@Gio7707 wrote:

wow..keep in mind I am not an engeneer or tech specialist...I am more one of the type of "plug and play" person...however they will send me the modem and I will report back...I start liking VZ since that ..Heart


Ok.

 

Not a problem. 🙂

 

If you need help, be sure to:

 

#1 Post what DSL modem you got.

 

#2 Post what RJ-45 WAN port router you got. This only applies if it connected (OR you wish to connect) to the DSL modem.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Gio7707
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-16-2009

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 18 of 29
(1,151 Views)

Thanks so much for keepin up with this thread , yeah I got a modem it's this one : 

 

th_westell.png

 

sorry , dont have a hd handy right now , but it's the 610015  ADSL2

 

I already was reading up on some problems with it, however sometimes this week I will go ahead and test it out .. But one more "Q" : sometimes when I had slow nnection I would unplug the modem and router and then get a new IP adress (sort of release/renew Ip adress..) Then for some reason I would get faster speed..Now networking classes was the past for me ..So how can I or should I obtain a static IP adress , or does it really matter wether the Ip adress changes every cuople of days ..??

 

The router is a Belkin N with four ports ..

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,590
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 19 of 29
(1,147 Views)

Just waiting on someone to approve your uploaded attachment before I can see it. It might take until tomorrow morning for that to happen, but it's not a problem. Anyways, you do not need to get a Static IP address or anything else to deal with the slow speeds/disconnects/IP changes. If we can get the connection at a solid speed without issue, you should be able to hold an IP for months and not see a single drop in service. Just need to see how the Stats are once the picture is revealed to see whether or not you obtained the info for me 🙂

 

Also, there's nothing wrong with the Westell 6100s. If you have an issue with it, most problems are solved simply by bridging them. I have a really old Westell 6100 from when they first started handing them out, and I run it in bridged mode without a problem.

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,077
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: SPEEDTEST / SLOWER THAN 71% SLOWER THAN THE REST OF USA !!! REALLY ??

Message 20 of 29
(1,139 Views)

#1 Visit http://www.giganews.com/line_info.html and post up the Traceroute the page shows, if you wish. Be aware that the final hop (bottom-most line of the trace) will contain a hop with your IP address in it. Remove that line. What I'm looking for is a line that mentions "ERX" in it's name towards the end. If for some reason the trace does not complete (two lines full of Stars), keep the trace route intact.

 

#2 Can you provide the Transceiver Statistics from you modem?

 

Visit http://192.168.1.1/ for me and do the following:

 

1: If you see a Blue and White Westell page, mouse over Troubleshooting, go to DSL, and choose Transceiver Statistics. Copy/Paste the information on that page.

 

2: Go to System Monitoring > Advanced Monitors > Transceiver Statistics. Copy/Paste the information on that page.

 

3: Try visiting http://192.168.1.1/transtat.htm which is a direct link to the Stats on older modems.

 

If you need a Username and Password, try the following:

 

admin/password

admin/password1

admin/admin

admin/admin1

admin/Serial Number.

 

By Serial Number, I don't mean type in the words Serial Number. I mean find and type in the serial number found on the bottom of this router.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title