Service ready date delayed indefinitely due to strike?
Hungryman792
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hi, I'm a resident of Washington DC who recently decided to opt for Verizon's high speed internet service, due mostly to poor experiences with competitors. I placed an order with Verizon on 8/5 and was told that my service ready date was scheduled for 8/11. Last week, however, a Verizon rep called me saying that the service date had been canceled, with no indication as to a future installation date. 

From what I understand, the strike is supposed to last for many weeks, if not months. I've tried reaching a Verizon rep by phone, but due to the strike all calls are rerouted to an automatic message, then quickly terminated. There has been no more communication from Verizon.

I understand that a strike of this magnitude is a challenge for any company to manage, but I usually do a lot of research-intensive work at home and I can't exactly put everything on hold until, say, November just waiting for Verizon. Does anyone know if there are any plans to make up for the service delays--e.g. contingency plans--or can I expect the cold shoulder until the strike ends? 

If not, I may have to grit my teeth and settle for Comcast, AT & T, etc.

Re: Service ready date delayed indefinitely due to strike?
Hungryman792
Enthusiast - Level 2

This lack of communication is pathetic. What's more galling is that Verizon pretends that service is running smoothly in all its press releases--a blatant lie.  I really didn't want to do this, but I'll be calling Comcast today and seeing if I can cancel Verizon's service. 

bjaret
Enthusiast - Level 2

They are not doing any new installations at this time , is what a rep from verizon told me ive been with out 911 service since 8/10 . There my only service provider. Ive already tried to switch beleive me !

Hungryman792
Enthusiast - Level 2