Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Skype with WiFi

Reply
Larry123
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-26-2014

Skype with WiFi

Message 1 of 7
(1,881 Views)

question from an old Luddite.....when using Skype with WiFi, I sometimes lose the audio or video of the other person. They say they can see and hear me fine.  I assume that if I "hardwire" my notebook (Lenovo Ideapad S400) with an enthernet cable to the back of the router, the problem will be fixed. 

 

Question:  which ethernet jack in the back of the router do I plug into?  There are 4 yellow jacks marked LAN and 1 white jack marked WAN.  Dio I have to also somehow (temporarily) disconnect my WiFi?  If yes, how do I do that?  I think --  not sure -- that's what the "Airplane Mode" switich is for?   Maybe not.  Thank you.

 

Old Guy

 

 

6 REPLIES 6
viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Skype with WiFi

Message 2 of 7
(1,940 Views)

Any one of the yellow lan ports.

You shouldn't have to disconnect the wifi connection.

 

Larry123
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-26-2014

Re: Skype with WiFi

Message 3 of 7
(1,923 Views)

OK, thank you.

 

 

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Skype with WiFi

Message 4 of 7
(1,909 Views)
It certainly is a good idea to connect to your router via Ethernet cable as a troubleshooting step. If that fixes your problem...great. But if it doesn't you should be aware that the problem may be at your end of the connection but it could also beat the other end of the call.

If hardwiring to your router doesn't fix the problem, I suggest you post the problem on the Skype forum:

http://community.skype.com/t5/Windows-desktop-client/bd-p/Windows

Fellow Skype users there should be able to offer additional steps to determine where the problem lies.
Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,590
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Skype with WiFi

Message 5 of 7
(1,845 Views)

You can use any of the four ports labeled LAN to connect. When connecting with a Cable it's best practice to disconnect from the WiFi. This will prevent the computer from randomly picking a connection to use and provide mixed results.

 

For improving the wireless performance, try adjusting the wireless channel. Set it to either Channel 1, 6, or 11, instead of automatic.

Larry123
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-26-2014

Re: Skype with WiFi

Message 6 of 7
(1,799 Views)

Thank you Smith but you are getting too technical for this old Luddite - can you please explain how to disconnect WiFi (which is what I thought all along I had to do) and how do I change channels.

 

Please talk to me live I as 5 years old - I am quite serious and thank you again for your courtesy.

 

 

Old Guy

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,590
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Skype with WiFi

Message 7 of 7
(1,746 Views)

@Larry123 wrote:

Thank you Smith but you are getting too technical for this old Luddite - can you please explain how to disconnect WiFi (which is what I thought all along I had to do) and how do I change channels.

 

Please talk to me live I as 5 years old - I am quite serious and thank you again for your courtesy.

 

 

Old Guy


Understandable! 🙂

 

To turn off the Wi-Fi, in most cases, computers will have a menu to do this. If you run Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1, or 10, locate the Wi-Fi icon at the bottom of your screen. This will usually show bars when Wi-Fi is connected. Click on this, then click on the name of your WI-Fi network, and then click "Disconnect."

 

 

To re-connect, you can follow the same steps, except that you will find a "Connect" button when you select your network instead.

 

If you are on a Mac/Apple Computer, click on the Wi-Fi bars at the top of your screen on the menu bar, and then click "Turn off." The same process can be used to turn Wi-Fi back on.

 

For changing the Wireless channel, I'll explain how to do that once we've figured out if you have an improvement with a wired connection.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title