×

Switch Account

Using netgear router/modem

Using netgear router/modem

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor asteerman
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-29-2009
Message 1 of 7
(20,583 Views)

I was told I could use another brand router/modem with Verizon dsl broadband.  Unfortunately, I can't get an internet connection and Netgear won't help until I do and Verizon won't help because it's not their equipment.  Has anyone had this problem?

6 REPLIES 6
Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 3,149
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 2 of 7
(20,536 Views)

Question: If you use the Verizon-provided router/modem, can you get an internet connection?

 

If so, then it's isolated to settings within the Netgear.

If not, then there's something wrong with your line and you'll need to get Verizon to troubleshoot with their modem/router in place. Once the connection is working you can try with the Netgear again.

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Contributor asteerman
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-29-2009
Message 3 of 7
(20,508 Views)

Will Netgear talk to me about this.  When  I called their service, they would not talk to me unless I had an internet connection.

Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 3,149
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 4 of 7
(20,424 Views)

 


@asteerman wrote:

Will Netgear talk to me about this.  When  I called their service, they would not talk to me unless I had an internet connection.


 

That's why you have to make sure the Verizon equipment works. If the Verizon equipment works, then you HAVE an internet connection. You should be able to take the exact same settings and put them into your Netgear router. If you are unable to, Netgear should be able to help you.

 

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,742
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 5 of 7
(20,417 Views)

While I do not know what the brand and model of this modem, I point to http://www.dslreports.com/faq/13600

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor Lynfidel
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 6 of 7
(20,002 Views)

netgear router-modem works fine, least as well as the Verizon Westell equipment did. That is to say, the problems aren't with the modems, it is with the DSL service - ancient lines and switches. The only problem with using the Netgear equipment is that it gives Verizon Tech Support an excuse to not deal with the line problems, even after it is established that the problems exist with Verizon equipment. Netgear of course can't help, because the problem isn't with the Netgear equipment.

 

Contributor DeKqlOne
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-15-2010
Message 7 of 7
(18,448 Views)

Had the same problem, then somehow, after Netgear & Verizon's Ping Pong game (I was the ball) frustrating days later. Leaving it powered up the entire time. The darn thing kicked in one day when I came home from work! Oh yeah, the very night before, the concerned, dedicated, and professional Staff at Netgear convinced me to purchase their "PREMIUM TECH SUPPORT" for only $99 a year, imagine that? Hang on, it gets better! So then I fall for Magic Jack! MJ arrives in the mail finally, now I,m gonna get hooked up! Plugged it in and I had VIOP! A few days later, VIOP Op's Out, and Netgear DGN2000 goes with it. I,m positively certain, that it has to be my three teenagers, not Verizon, Netgear, nor Magic Jack, whom have conspired against me to ruin my HiTech aspirations. Oh well, some guy in Maryland, input (0) in the VPI setting, in ADSL menu, on Netgear's DGN2000 Router On line support Web site, which comes up when you load the CD, the default setting is (8). Hey, if you ever need spare parts for your DNG2000, your more than welcome to have the one I've purchased, seriously, it even comes with Netgear's "PREMIUM TECH SUPPORT" package! For absolutely nothing, I'll even pay the shipping cost. Don't get tangled up in the NET! Bye.   

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.