×

Switch Account

Verizon needs to stop updating end user's equipment without the user's knowledge.

Verizon needs to stop updating end user's equipment without the user's knowledge.

Reply
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,742
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 1 of 16
(8,766 Views)

What I  am reading about in these threads that I linking to is not acceptable.

 

Shame on you guy/gals. Please stop this shady practice at once.

 

DSLR (dslreports) Forums » US Telco Support » Verizon » Verizon Online DSL » [modem/router] Versalin...

 

One quick quote from that thread.

 

* Quote *

 

So the update bricked it somehow. Probably when I restarted the
router (not knowing that it was being updated) before it completed the
flash, which would definitely cause it to brick. But that's one good
reason why VZ shouldn't be flashing end user's hardware without their
knowledge. They should have sent me an e-mail with a link to the update
along with the usual install BS.

 

* End Quote *

 

 DSLR (dslreports.com) Forums » US Telco Support » Verizon » Verizon Online DSL » Westell 6100 now my...

 

This, I repeat, is not acceptable! Please tell users to check for updates for their router/software and give them the directions to update the equipment.

 

PS. I also sent this message to the mods, admins, and to the people who are on this board who work for Verizon...

 

 

Message Edited by dslr595148 on 02-14-2009 03:00 PM

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

15 REPLIES 15
Contributor Jodokast96
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 2 of 16
(8,739 Views)
Totally agree to this.  First firmware that fixed or improved nothing as far as anyone could tell, yet caused a lot of disconnect problems, and now a bricked modem that they originally wanted the customer to pay for?  Ridiculous!  If you aren't going to be responsible for it, stay the {word filter avoidance}  out of it.
Message Edited by KaLin on 02-14-2009 03:06 PM
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 428
Registered: ‎10-11-2008

I can understand the frustration in the updates, especially if you have the router set just the way you like it.  I read down a little further and someone posted a section in the terms of agreement which each customer has to accept to continue the installation. 

 

It read:

 

We may provide you, for a fee or at no charge, software for use in connection with the Service which is owned by Verizon or its third party licensors, providers and suppliers ("Software"). We reserve the right periodically to update, upgrade or change the Software remotely or otherwise and to make related changes to the settings and software on your computer or Equipment, and you agree to permit such changes and access to your computer and Equipment. You may use the Software only in connection with the Service and for no other purpose...

 

Just keep in mind...You agreed to the terms, just like I did.

 

 

Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 4 of 16
(8,676 Views)
You have to also remember this is Verizons equipment, not yours. I deal with this at work a lot, people complain about what equipment we roll out to them, or software update. And I remind them that it is the companies equipment not their own. So that would also apply here as well. Believe me I agree, I like to patch and update everything myself. I like to know all about the software. But sometimes there is nothing I can do about that.
Message Edited by TimSykes on 02-16-2009 11:30 AM
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,742
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 5 of 16
(8,636 Views)

But sometimes there is nothing I can do about that..

*

Do not use ISP (or branded) equipment?

And if they want support, do not get it from Verizon, either.

If the users try to get support for their "own" equipment, Verizon Charges extra.

**

I have to ask you this, then..

What is the role of an ISP, Hmm?

I have seen people that think the role of an ISP is..

Quick Quote from

 

 DSLR Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » [Poll]Take your bets. ISP not incoming TCP SYN ...

 



An ISP is supposed to be an ISP, not a firewall.

* End Quote *

G*d D*rn it. ^^
Message Edited by dslr595148 on 02-17-2009 10:18 AM

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Copper Contributor HROTT
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-27-2009
Message 6 of 16
(8,399 Views)

I was told I had to buy the modem from them for over $50, so they won't be doing any firmware updates on my modem will they?  And if they break my modem, they have to replace it, right?

 

Message Edited by HROTT on 02-27-2009 04:45 PM
Copper Contributor EnquiringMinds
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Message 7 of 16
(8,365 Views)
 I don't have a Verizon router on my setup, just a Westell C90-36R516-01 DSL modem with a Netgear wireless router attached to it. About two weeks ago, I began to have problems where the router was reset overnight, losing all information (user name, password, wireless config.) and would have to re-enter the information. This happened a few times and now have taken to turning off the modem and router when not in use. Could this also be 'collateral damage' due to Verizon's updates?
Message Edited by EnquiringMinds on 02-28-2009 12:51 PM
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,742
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
I was told I had to buy the modem from them for over $50, so they won't be doing any firmware updates on my modem will they? And if they break my modem, they have to replace it, right?

^^

This is what I would do:

#1 Get another DSL modem that is not provided by the ISP. OR one does not have ISP logos (an ISP branded modem) on it.

It may cost you more money to buy one, but in the long run is well worth it.

#2 If you need tech support from Verizon, use their modem for that purpose.

If you buy the modem from them or the modem has ISP logos on it, they still could get into the router and do the updates.

I would believe if they break your modem (not one from the ISP or one that has ISP logos on it), they will be held responsible.

Because: It is illegal to get access to someone else's equipment, without their permission.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,742
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
I don't have a Verizon router on my setup, just a Westell C90-36R516-01 DSL modem with a Netgear wireless router attached to it. About two weeks ago, I began to have problems where the router was reset overnight, losing all information (user name, password, wireless config.) and would have to re-enter the information. This happened a few times and now have taken to turning off the modem and router when not in use. Could this also be 'collateral damage' due to Verizon's updates?

^^^

If:

#1 No one else in your house (or other location) "resets" the router..

Note: Typically this is done by, pressing the reset button on the back of the router while turning off and back on the power to the router.

#2 OR if the router offers a reset "button" in the router's interface, as long the password to the router screens/controls is secure..

..then it could be.

**

What is the model of that Netgear router?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Copper Contributor EnquiringMinds
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2009

Hello,

 

It's a WPN824. The router setup is password protected, and remote  admin is not activated. As long as I leave the modem and router powered down for the night, it is not reset.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.