×

Switch Account

Verizon needs to stop updating end user's equipment without the user's knowledge.

Verizon needs to stop updating end user's equipment without the user's knowledge.

Reply
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,742
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
It's a WPN824. The router setup is password protected, and remote admin is not activated. As long as I leave the modem and router powered down for the night, it is not reset.

^^

#1 The router is set to use some sort of wireless security?

For example, any of the directions at

http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/wireless/Netgear/WPN824/wireless.htm

?

#2 What Firmware is the router at?

This info may be at "Router Status" and (or) maybe at "Router Upgrade"

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Copper Contributor EnquiringMinds
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2009

#1 Yes

 

#2 The latest.

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,742
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

 


@EnquiringMinds wrote:

#1 Yes

 

#2 The latest.




#1 Which level(s)? Please do not post the password/passphrase!

 

b) How long is that password/passphrase? May or may not apply, depending on the level of security..

 

c) It does follow the advice of what makes a good password? Such as the advise over at http://www.grc.com/securitynow.htm

 

The first few Episodes that deal with  Password Policy?

Direct links: http://www.grc.com/sn/sn-004.htm

http://www.grc.com/sn/sn-005.htm

 

#2 The most to date, seems to be...

 

WPN824v1 Firmware Version 2.0.120_1.0.15

WPN824v2 Firmware Version 2.0.26

WPN824v3 Firmware Version 1.0.7

 

--

 

Moving along...

 

#3 In the router, is the log enabled?

 

This may be at Content Filtering -> Logs

 

and is the e-mail log enabled?

 

This may be at Content Filtering ->E-Mail

 

 ?

 

Reason why I ask.. If Verzion is doing that to you, I would think that in the log..

 

#4 Do you have a network hub?

 

If you do not what I mean, see: 

 

All DSLR (dslreports.com) FAQs » Networking Forum FAQ » Glossary » What is the difference between a ...

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,742
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

*Update*

While waiting for you to reply...

#1 I thought of something else to check. Smiley Happy

Please make sure that UPnP in the router is turned off.

The reason for this, go to the following FAQ.

 

All DSLR (dslreports.com) FAQs » Verizon Online FiOS FAQ » 3.1 Actiontec » Actiontec Security consid...



I know that FAQ says FIOS and is about the Actiontec, but I have to wonder if Local UPNP and CSRF UPNP Security issues, also applies to your router.

And that is why your router is reseting

?

 

#2 I am doing research if it is possible to use a switch instead of a hub, for what you may be able to do to really see what is going on..

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor EnquiringMinds
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Off
Copper Contributor EnquiringMinds
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
The password is fine and log is enabled BUT, when the reset happens, the router is returned to factory settings and log is gone. My real issue of visiting this forum (a posting to which no one has responded) is that, as a current DSL subscriber, Verizon is not allowing me to upgrade my speed because FIO$ is in my area. I just wanted some extra bandwidth and they want to sell me a whole new package. As a result, my Verizon days are coming to an end, for disregard of the customers needs is not the way to conduct business. I wish you well on your issue of forced updates but see this as yet another reason not to stick with Verizon.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.