×

Switch Account

Westell 7500 -- keep losing connection ?!?!

Westell 7500 -- keep losing connection ?!?!

Reply
Copper Contributor murphalina
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2009
Message 1 of 10
(12,935 Views)

New house, new DSL.  Have pretty much been having trouble with the Westell 7500 since setting it up.  I'll be on the internet just fine, then pages stop loading, I look over and either all the lights are solid green (not blinking), or the Internet light has turned red.  

 

I have filters on all my phones, and I don't have a filter on the line with the 7500.

 

I'd really appreciate any help or suggestions, thanks. 

9 REPLIES 9
Copper Contributor murphalina
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2009
Message 2 of 10
(12,917 Views)
I decided to reboot since none of the green lights were blinking.  Now the power light is red and the DSL light is orange.  *sigh*  I have rebooted several times since then, still the same.  :smileyindifferent:
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,739
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 3 of 10
(12,879 Views)
Does the connection freeze and restart?

If so, see as need be: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/156

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 428
Registered: ‎10-11-2008
Message 4 of 10
(12,865 Views)

@murphalina wrote:
I decided to reboot since none of the green lights were blinking.  Now the power light is red and the DSL light is orange.  *sigh*  I have rebooted several times since then, still the same.  :smileyindifferent:

 

By rebooting, are you referring to your computer or hitting the reset on the back of the modem?
Copper Contributor murphalina
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2009
Message 5 of 10
(12,857 Views)

When the green lights stop blinking, or the Internet light turns red, it does not restart on its own.  I have to reboot the modem/router.  And by reboot, I mean turn the power off, wait 60 seconds, then turn it back on.  

 

Thanks very much for your assistance.  I have reached out to Verizon support about this, and so far they have been unable to help me.  

Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 428
Registered: ‎10-11-2008
Message 6 of 10
(12,852 Views)

@murphalina wrote:

When the green lights stop blinking, or the Internet light turns red, it does not restart on its own.  I have to reboot the modem/router.  And by reboot, I mean turn the power off, wait 60 seconds, then turn it back on.  


 

Thanks for the quick reply...the blinking green light...Are you referring to the Dsl light? 

 

 After setting the router, does internet operation return to normal? 

 

Do you ever loos your internet connection when you recieve an incomming call?

 

Also. have you ever tried pluggin a phone in the cord that feeds the modem to ensure there is dial tone there?

 

Copper Contributor murphalina
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2009
Message 7 of 10
(12,823 Views)

It is now completely stuck with the power light RED and the DSL light ORANGE.  I have unplugged it, plugged it in elsewhere, etc. and can't get these lights to change colors.

 

I plugged the modem cord into a phone and verified dial tone.

 

We weren't able to really make a connection between incoming calls and loss of connection.  It could be related, but we definitely lost connection quite often when there were no incoming calls.  

 

Hope this clarifies?   

Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 428
Registered: ‎10-11-2008
Message 8 of 10
(12,815 Views)
If you hit the reset on the back of the router, do the lights restore?  If not, you router may be shot.
Copper Contributor murphalina
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-22-2009
Message 9 of 10
(12,792 Views)

I didn't see any buttons on the back of the router, but there was a button on the side, and a button on the front.  Pushed each and nothing happened.  Called Verizon who said my router was borked and they are sending me a new one.

 

Thanks for your help! 

Copper Contributor Tampaite
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-27-2009
Message 10 of 10
(12,704 Views)

Since you moved into a new house, you will have spare cables running from the Verizon Box(outside your house) into the outer wall of your house.

Place a call with Verizon and ask a tech to be sent..most likely one of your cable(s) is bad.

 

Similar thing happened with me and once the traffic was routed into the house with the spare cable my internet connectivity is much better...

Message Edited by Tampaite on 02-26-2009 10:01 AM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.