Xbox 360 Nat type from Moderate to OPEN?
oneilc818

Im using a Westell A90-7500 modem/router provided by Verizon. I connot play CoD with my friends because my NAT type is always moderate. How can I change it to Open? I do not have any networking experience at all so words like DMZ and port forwarding are all foreign to me. Can someone give me detailed step by step instructions for a complete noob? Verizon and Xbox tech support have gotten me nowhere so Im coming here as a very last resort. Thanks in advance.

0 Likes
Re: Xbox 360 Nat type from Moderate to OPEN?
oneilc818

Bump for desperation. Cmon guys I know thousands of people have this same problem. Someone has to be willing to provide some feedback for me 😕

0 Likes
Re: Xbox 360 Nat type from Moderate to OPEN?
smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader
The only thing that needs to be done is a simple port forward or a DMZ to the 360. Start off by visiting http://192.168.1.1/ and then clicking Firewall Settings, and choosing DMZ Host from the Left Side navigation. You will see a listing of devices in a drop-down menu. Locate the name of the Xbox 360, and then click Enable. From there, your Xbox should be getting an Open NAT condition.

Since using the DMZ can be seen as a security issue since it forwards ALL traffic incoming to the selected device, I do prefer a Port Forwarding rule instead. If you visit the Port Forwarding section of the modem instead of the DMZ Host section, you should see a drop-down list with a listing of services in it. I'm not sure if the "XBox Live" entry I see in my modem's list will work for what you need, but if it doesn't, you can create your own port forwarding rules by pressing "Create." From there, you'll need to give the modem the ports needed to be forwarded (they can be found in this article: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/908874).