quick menu

Home Monitoring and Control

Home Monitoring and Control

Reply
Contributor Bignasd
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-15-2014
Message 1 of 11
(9,156 Views)

I have had the home monitoring system for about 2 years.  I have had several problems with the cameras, had to reorder at least 2 because of technical problems. It has worked pretty good for the last couple of months.  I only use the cameras on the plan.  Recently, that is, about 2 days ago, I received an unexpected FIOS update which eliminated the Home Monitroing and Control icon from the FIOS Menu, which cancels my ability to utilize the program on my television when I receive an alert. That was a primary feature of the program.  Support has been very slow with the problems I have experienced in the past.  Technical support says someone is working on this menu problem, but how did the elimination occur?  As a former IT manager, I know that you are supposed to put all of the existing menu items back unless you have another way of using the menu to execute the program, but there appears to be no other way.  I have requested and was given a credit so I am not paying for something I am not receiving, but like others who spent an outrageous amount of money for the equipment, I want to know is Verizon going to support those of us who purchased the Home Monitoring and Control system or not.  This is unacceptable, and if you are not going to support it, you need to find a way to reimburse us for the equipment we purchased on the condition that you would be supporting the program.  I am going to wait no later than a month, then I am going to complain to the FCC, Better Business Bureau, and my State's Attorney General because after reading comments on this site, it appears that many of us have been duped into buying something that Verizon failed to make profitable, now lthey want to abandon it.

10 REPLIES 10
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 2 of 11
(9,129 Views)

I agree100%.

 

Anyway, your issue may be related to mine where recorded videos can not be viewed. The techs (these are the techs who work behind the curtains, not the ones you talk to when you call in) have been trying to fix this issue since the begining of the month (See: http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Home-Monitoring-and-Control/HM-amp-C-Camera-Recordings-Not-Viewable/td-...). It started working on and off two days ago after they finally admitted that is was a system wide issue and not just me. That was about the same time that your system went down. So my guess is that they messed up something on the FIOS TV Menu that has to do with VHM&C.

 

Call tech support and report the issue. Ask for Sam, he's one of the supervisers. You can tell him that "Steve H" said it sounds related to his issue.

 

Good luck and please post your results here.

 

Steve

Contributor B9
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-15-2014
Message 3 of 11
(9,028 Views)


ONE QUESTION: does anyone that upgraded to quantum have the original ability to see the cameras on their TV ? I need to decide whether to cancel my verizon service
Has anyone gotten the cameras to work after upgrading from Fios to Quantum? Anyone?? I can see my cameras on my IPhone but no longer through the TV. About 6 months to a year ago I lost ability to see the cameras on TV which was resolved after enduring the painfully daunting labyrinth of misinforming "customer service support" decoys. I am not willing to go through that again unless someone that has upgraded to quantum can tell me they actually got their cameras to work on their TV.
... I too feel I wasted my money investing in a system verizon abandoned.

Contributor Bignasd
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-15-2014
Message 4 of 11
(9,019 Views)
I reported this problem and got the complete runaround from Verizon techs and customer service managers. Verizon has not held up its end, without any notice or information. I have filed a complaint for bad marketing and advertisement practices with the FCC. If we all do it, the more likely something will be done.
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 5 of 11
(8,991 Views)

Good for you.

 

How did you report them and how can I?

Contributor Bignasd
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-15-2014
Message 6 of 11
(8,982 Views)
I went on the FCC website and filed a complaint.
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 7 of 11
(8,972 Views)

Good to know. I'll have to try that, though I don't really think it will do much.

Contributor Bignasd
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-15-2014
Message 8 of 11
(8,965 Views)

If I get no results, I will complaint to Better Business and my State's Attorney Cons I mer protection division.

Contributor kipL
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-10-2015
Message 9 of 11
(8,685 Views)

I'm having problems with Verizon Home Monitoring and Control.  It stopped working a month ago and I can't get them to fix it. I spent 3 hours on the phone with them over the last two days only to be told they can't do anything until Monday, and even then they're not sure they'll be able to get it running.  I, too, paid a lot of money for 5 cameras and 2 outlet devices, believing the service would work over a period of many years.  If I had known that it would have stopped working now, or that the support would be so bad, I wouldn't have spent so much money to buy the equipment. When I spoke to a supervisor about the problem, he said  my two options were to either cancel my service or accept it. Verizon doesn't seem to understand the third option--fix the problem when it arises.  Some good customer service might be helpful, too. I'm stuck woth more than $500 in equipment and no service to use it on.  Thank you Verizon.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014
Message 10 of 11
(8,670 Views)

OK! HM&C IS NOW A WIDGET ON MY FIOSTV MENU! YAY!! HOW ? You want the solution?  ok....here's how it worked for me......call 1800verizon, eventually get to hm&c tech support, he transferred me to fiostv support after explaining that previous update to onscreen menu left the hm&c part "missing", and that the fiostv tech could "push" an update  to my stb's that would restore it. actually got transferred right away, no disconnection or horrible wait times, and the tech explained that he could "roll back" the version of stb firmware to prev one .well he did reset all stb's with a version of onscreen menu that has HM&C available as a widget now instead of simple menu choice (it was a simple menu choice before, right? lol)  The next day, a newer stb update replaced his "rolled back" version, but the HM&C widget was still available , i did have to add it to "my widgets" again though. but YAY!  thanks verizon, and a cynical extra thanks for letting me know that you were gonna remove the hm&c from my fiostv menu, you know, like you notify me when a channel lineup is changing or there is a service interruption  , etc....through the on screen messages, or as a blurb in my phonebill or in an email or SOMETHING! (you didn't) and the way you rushed to tell me how to restore it (you didn't, i had to ask), unsurpassed! im so underwhelmed! but thats why we pay the bigbucks i guess

  did u get your hm&c back on your tv yet bignasd?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.

My Fios App
Fios TV App
Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios