quick menu

Monitoring Camera (Streaming not working)

Monitoring Camera (Streaming not working)

Reply
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 11 of 30
(9,075 Views)

Yup, NO JOY on the Java update. I uninstalled and installed the latest version on three (3) different computers running three (3) different operating systems and tried it on 4 different browsers, none worked. I called and got the same stock answer. So I asked for a supervisor. I'm waiting for a call back now.

 

They spend more time asking you to complete the survey at the end of the call then getting the issue fixed. And they can't be too concerned about the survey because you would think they would call me to see why I'm so dissatisfied with the service (not the tech, the service).

Copper Contributor techmasterflash
Copper Contributor
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-05-2009
Message 12 of 30
(9,072 Views)

I hope the survey doesn't ask if you would recommend the service, since it's been discontinued? - DB

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 13 of 30
(9,065 Views)

It does but I think they mean Verizon overall. To which I always say no.

 

I was called back by a supervisor named Sam. Really no help so I asked for his boss, Isaiah. But I really don't hold any hope that this issue will be resolved.

 

My suggestion to ALL VHM&C users is to demand a credit for the service going back to the beginning of the year. That is when this all started. Perhaps if we hit them in the wallet they'll do something to fix the problem.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014
Message 14 of 30
(9,029 Views)

ok you guys, i got mine streaming again, but i had to reduce java's security setting to less than recommended and close then reopen my browser to do so........using vista with ie9 and java build 1.7.0_55-b13, i clicked start, control panel, java....then in javacontrolpanel that opened i clicked on security tab, then dragged slider down to medium, clicked ok, and closed then reopened  browser to home monitoring site, clicked to change from snapshot to live streaming, had to agree to allow applet, then VOILA! it was streaming again......NOTE:THIS IS A BAD IDEA AS YOU ARE LOWERING YOUR JAVA SECURITY FOR ALL SITES....ATTN:VERIZON,,,PLEASE UPDATE YOUR CODE TO INCLUDE THE "PERMISSIONS MANIFEST ATTRIBUTE IN MAIN JAR: https://www22.verizon.com/homecontrol/ak-cached/1w/downloads/applet/IpCamViewerv10047.jar" as it is missing and apparently is required.

thanks in advance!!

Copper Contributor techmasterflash
Copper Contributor
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-05-2009
Message 15 of 30
(9,018 Views)

Same holds true on the Mac. Lower security to medium, apply and restart browser.

Java on MAc

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 16 of 30
(9,015 Views)

That's great. I called VHM&C to have them look your post (since they don't seem to monitor the forum very much).

 

I would suggest that ALL users of VHM&C call tech support (Direct number is 866-657-1618) and harass them to make the appropriate changes. Ask for Isaiah, he seems to be incharge there or ask for Sam as he is a supervisor there as well.

 

The more people who call the better the chances are something will get done.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014
Message 17 of 30
(8,991 Views)

Shaenn, did u get your camera streaming again? ......Thx for posting that phone number, I'll be calling it  in the morning. I hope everyone else reading this that had same problem does, too.

       P.S. REMEMBER TO SET YOUR JAVA SECURITY BACK TO AT LEAST THE RECOMMENDED LEVEL AFTER VIEWING YOUR CAMERA'S STREAMING VIDEO.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 18 of 30
(8,987 Views)

Nope, still not working!

 

This is getting rediculous. This has been an issue since January, that's four months and for most of that time Verizon has been blaming Java for the problem. I suggest that everyone with VHM&C should demand a credit for the last four months and continue to demand a credit for every month that this problem goes unresolved. We don't all have smartphones or tablets to access the live streaming and even if we did, this should be working on a browser as well. And even if it starts working today, we should be credited for the past four months of service.

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 19 of 30
(8,937 Views)

 

 

We are now in month 5 of a major feature of VHM&C not working. This would take a Java programmer 10 minutes to fix.

 

If the plan is for all the remaining VHM&C users to drop their service so the division can be closed, fine, so be it. JUST GIVE US THE USERNAME & PASSWORDS FOR THE CAMERAS. Then we can take our equipment and move on to another system, one that works.

 

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 20 of 30
(8,753 Views)

Now in month six (6) ! What is the delay in fixing this issue?

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
My Fios App
Fios TV App
Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios