×

Switch Account

Move to Nexia

Reply
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 21 of 38
(8,771 Views)

Well, so far not so good. The bridge that Nexia sent me does not work. After spending 40 minutes on the phone with support, the said that I needed a new bridge. They said they would email me a call tag for me to send back the old one and when they receive it, would send me the replacement. NO WAY! I demaned that they send the new one first since this was bad out of the box and then I would either cross-ship the old or they could put a return slip in the box of the new one.

 

After a few minutes they agreed to send the new one out ASAP.

 

Hope this is not a sign of things to come.

 

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014
Message 22 of 38
(8,760 Views)

sorry to hear that shaenn...i prob will not be switching over ... might  try for 30 days, but if most of my 30-day trial is eaten up by bad equipment delays, i'll def cancel....at nexiahome.com/verizon doesn't it say "With Nexia, you’ll have all the home control capabilities as before, plus much more, while at the same ...." ??? so then are they gonna give you a free motionsensor? 

Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 23 of 38
(8,755 Views)

Only motionsensor that Verizon has is part of the Outdoor Cameras. Have not heard yet it that works or not.

 

Hopefully I'll have the replacement by the weekend and I can fully test the system.

Copper Contributor Dukestane
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-11-2013
Message 24 of 38
(8,720 Views)

Called Verizon to cancel th HMC and the rep did not know the service was being phased out.  She wanted to know if I was unhappy with the service.  Smiley LOL

 

Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 25 of 38
(8,703 Views)

@Dukestane wrote:

She wanted to know if I was unhappy with the service.

 


 

Thanks, I needed a good laugh.Smiley Very Happy

 

Verizon just sent me a survey. One of the questions was how can we (Verizon) do better? My answer was that they need to start treating their customers like they need every single one!

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014
Message 26 of 38
(8,689 Views)

g'day!       shaenn:about motion sensing: you know how you could go into settings for your indoor camera  {through hm&c) and adjust brightness and sharpness, and turn  motion sensor on or off? well, the nexia interface has no motionsensing setting, so your camera  cant trigger recording to start , hence, you'll need a motion sensor. i think. i don't know. dukestane?

Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 27 of 38
(8,683 Views)

I had totally forgotten that the indoor camera even had motion detection. I only have it active on my outdoor cameras. The indoor camera are all pointed at access points (windows & doors) and are triggered by door/window sensors.

 

Odd though that Nexia skipped that option. 

 

My replacement Nexia bridge came today so I hope to have everything switched over tonight.

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014
Message 28 of 38
(8,642 Views)

well, well? killin me w suspense

 

Highlighted
Contributor rew1000
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-18-2011
Message 29 of 38
(8,629 Views)

I made the switch a week ago,  All Verizon equipment except the remote control was successfully transferred over to work with the Nexia bridge,  Motion detecction on the outdoor cameras works,  There is a check box in the camera edit menu.  In fact the motion detection works too well.  I have not been able to find a way to set the motion detection viewing area or to adjust the motion detection sensitivity.  I get a constant string of notification of motion detection.  If anyone has a solution to that please post it.

 

As others noted video quality and speed are greatly improved over Verizon HM&C.  The cameras can be set to high quality and HD modes. The Android app is a great improvement over the Verizon app.

 

All-in-all a positive switchover experience.  It did take several hours to convert and as others have mentioned. I have been tweaking the automations and settings during the following week.

 

I highly recommend Nexia.

Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Message 30 of 38
(8,619 Views)

Just about finished with my conversion as well. Just have to finish the outdoor cameras. Some of them are in very hard to reach spots so it may take me a while to get to them. Fortunately I have spares of both the indoor and outdoor cameras. So I can configure one of the spares and then replace the camera with that. Then configure that camera and replace another one and so on and so on.

As you said, the remote does not function the same as with Verizon. But Nexia sent me the instructions on how to configure the remote. Unfortunately it does not use the Modes but is connected directly to a device like the Light Module. I've already emailed them that this needs to be addressed.

By the way, you can't flip the camera video. I have a P&T mounted on the ceiling and needs to have the video flipped. Nexia is working on it.

 

Sorry, but after two years of letting Verizon walk all over me, I'm going to take a hard stance here and demand everything work correctly.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.