quick menu

Am I setting up the Verizon Network extender correctly?

Am I setting up the Verizon Network extender correctly?

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor Kappa
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-21-2015
Message 1 of 8
(14,112 Views)

I'm planning on buying the Verizon network extender for my home. https://www.verizon.com/home/fios-accessories/fios-network-extender/   I am unsure what I am suppsoe to connect or whether I have all the right equipment.

 

Right now I use Verizon Fio for internet, phone and TV. My ONT has a coxial cable that goes to splitter for TV and Verizon router. My router only has 1 coxial cable plug. Am I suppose to connect the ethnet from the ONT to my router? Does that even work?

 

Something like this:???

 

ONT --> Ethernet -->Verizon Router-->coaxial --> Extender -->

 

 

7 REPLIES 7
Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 1,318
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
Message 2 of 8
(14,057 Views)

Please look at my set up shown in

Re: New FIOS Setup - MOCA COAX

‎11-21-2015 10:56 AM

Hope this info helps in your case

My Network Extender is doing a great job…located in upstairs Bedroom.

All 3 splitters are the same.

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,Bose SOLO,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Contributor Kappa
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-21-2015
Message 3 of 8
(13,986 Views)

Do I need a specific fios router? I keep hearing people say you need the Rev-I version. I have the Rev-F version of the fios router.

 

It looks like it only has 1 splitter. Can you use any splitter or does it have to be a specific kind?

Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 1,318
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
Message 4 of 8
(13,973 Views)

Here is one source for any splitters you might want to add.

 

https://www.verizon.com/home/fios-accessories/2-way-coax-splitter/

 

In the diagram that I ref. before you will notice that I have a Rev F router.

 

How much of my set up are you planning to implement ?

 

My Fios Pkg is 50 Mhz Up/Down  your final decision on your router depends on YOUR speed pkg.

 

 

 

 

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,Bose SOLO,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Contributor Kappa
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-21-2015
Message 5 of 8
(13,969 Views)

Pretty much the samething except with 1 less splitter because I only have one set top box. Something like this. Does anything look wrong? Also what else comes does the network extender come with that way I can buy stuff ahead of time?

 

 

ONT------------Splitter---------STB-----------TV

                           |

                           |

                           |     

                     Spliiter---------MI424WR-RevF

                          |

       2nd Floor    |

                          |

                  wcb300n

 

 

 

 

 

Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 1,318
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
Message 6 of 8
(13,962 Views)

Why do you need the VZ NETWRK EXT on the 2 nd floor ?

Having said that please see "revisions" to your diagram in attachment.

 

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,Bose SOLO,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Contributor Kappa
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-21-2015
Message 7 of 8
(13,953 Views)

Thanks again for your help. Sorry typo, I mean WCB3000N not 300. Other than that your diagram looks exactly the same as mine?

 

Maybe my diagram is unclear. The MI424WR is on the first floor. The wcb3000n is on the second floor. I put the words 2nd floor to diffrenciate between them. I made the diagram more clearer.

 

 

 

2nd Floor       wcb3000n

                         |

                         |

                         |

                         |

1st Floor     Spliiter---MI424WR-RevF

                           |

                           |    

ONT------------Splitter---------STB-----------TV

                         

                

     

 

Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 1,318
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
Message 8 of 8
(13,856 Views)

Kappa:

Tnx for your Kudos.

Please read ALL of this...

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-Internet/WCB3000N-Button-blinks-RED/m-p/770606#M53209

 

We have some very knowledgeable and great friends on these Forums.

I'm learning from then all the time.

 

as you can see from above exchange the WCB3000N is now working beautifully.

 

i added it upstairs in the Bedroom primarily for use with my iPad but also works well in living room when "guests" come over.

 

Happy Holidays and 73's for now.

 

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,Bose SOLO,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios