Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Verizon Speed Test Working?

SOLVED
Reply
armond_in_nj
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Verizon Speed Test Working?

Message 1 of 5
(1,471 Views)

Just curious about this, since there are obviously other methods available to achieve the desired result.  No matter how often or hard I try, I cannot get this test to run, either in a limited account or an admin account.  It always asks to install Java 6/21, when I already have the latest Java 6/32 installed.  It just sits and percolates.   Folks, does this thing work?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jackmcgann
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎11-09-2010

Re: Verizon Speed Test Working?

Message 3 of 5
(1,437 Views)

Make sure you start Internet Exploder in "run as administrator" mode.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Verizon Speed Test Working?

Message 2 of 5
(1,464 Views)

@armond_in_nj wrote:

Just curious about this, since there are obviously other methods available to achieve the desired result.  No matter how often or hard I try, I cannot get this test to run, either in a limited account or an admin account.  It always asks to install Java 6/21, when I already have the latest Java 6/32 installed.  It just sits and percolates.   Folks, does this thing work?


Works for me here in Texas, just ran it:

 

Image 402.jpg

 

I also just did the test to the New Jersey server:

 

Image 403.jpg

 

What browser are you using? Have you tried starting that browser with no add-ons active to see what happens? Do you have another browser available that you could try the test with? For the record I am using Firefox 10.0.2 with a bunch of add-ons installed and active.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248

jackmcgann
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎11-09-2010

Re: Verizon Speed Test Working?

Message 3 of 5
(1,438 Views)

Make sure you start Internet Exploder in "run as administrator" mode.

View solution in original post

armond_in_nj
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: Verizon Speed Test Working?

Message 4 of 5
(1,430 Views)

@jackmcgann wrote:

Make sure you start Internet Exploder in "run as administrator" mode.



Thanks for the reply.  I got it to run on an XP SP3 box under IE7 32 Bit, but it does not like Win 7 64 Bit under IE9 64 Bit.  Still, Speedtest.net does the job well enough.

jackmcgann
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎11-09-2010

Re: Verizon Speed Test Working?

Message 5 of 5
(1,427 Views)

Yeah.. The other "gotcha" along with admin mode was 64bit won't fly. I should've mentioned it. WTG....

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.