Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Adding a 2nd line?

Reply
NickHudson
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-17-2008

Adding a 2nd line?

Message 1 of 6
(10,851 Views)
I am thinking about getting a 2nd phone line.  I have a 2 line phone system.  My only problem is - I have 1 line jacks.  Can I run 2 lines off of a 1 line jack, or do I need to get all new jacks installed?
5 REPLIES 5
mattheww50
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎10-24-2008

Re: Adding a 2nd line?

Message 2 of 6
(10,825 Views)

Depends upon how the jacks were wired. There is no such thing as a 1 line jack. Each line is in fact two wires, the basic RJ11 connector system provides 4 wires. So if the jacks were wired correctly, there should already be two lines available. Line 1 is the 'inner wire pair', and line 2 is the 'outer pair'.

Think of pin 1 and 4 as one line, and 2 and 3 are the other line(1st line).

 

If it was wired up correctly, then just connecting the other two wires for the other line at the service entrance would give you the second line on all jacks.

NickHudson
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-17-2008

Re: Adding a 2nd line?

Message 3 of 6
(10,810 Views)
So, if they were done correctly, no hardware changes should be required?
mattheww50
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎10-24-2008

Re: Adding a 2nd line?

Message 4 of 6
(10,794 Views)

That is correct if you want to use 2 line phones, or single line phones on the first line.

 

If you want to use a one line telephone on the second line, you need a way for that phone to see the 2nd line. That is usually done with a splitter that takes RJ11 and makes it into two RJ11 jacks, one for each line, since a single line telephone expects to see the connections on pins 2 and 3 of the RJ11. The splitter simply takes pins 1 and 4 on the original RJ11 jack and connects them to 2 and 3 on the connector labeled L2. Splitters are cheap and available from sources like Radio-Shack, and other electronics outlets.

 

If you look on ebay, take a look at item 290282635855 (just cut the item number and paste it into the search box). That is a typical splitter used for this purpose.

There are two types of line splitters, one that simply convert the existing RJ11 into multiple jacks, and ones that actually split out the telephone lines. You want to split out the telephone line into line 1 and line 2 jacks to use a single line phone on an RJ11 with two phone lines.

dhlunar
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎09-27-2008

Re: Adding a 2nd line?

Message 5 of 6
(10,464 Views)

So if I am reading this correctly, even though I live in an apartment and have two phone jacks, it is still possible that I could get a second line?

Telcoguru
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Adding a 2nd line?

Message 6 of 6
(10,462 Views)
If your apt is wired with 2 pair wire then yes you can get a 2nd phone line.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title