×

Switch Account

Area Code Required for Local Calls

Area Code Required for Local Calls

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2011

Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 1 of 13
(7,332 Views)

I live in So. Calif. Starting this morning, I have to enter the area code for local calls. Why the switch and how do I correct it?

12 REPLIES 12
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2011

Re: Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 2 of 13
(7,331 Views)

Note: I live in area code 909.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 3 of 13
(7,317 Views)

Do you have landline phone (old copper) or do you have Digital Voice? 

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 4 of 13
(7,308 Views)

I have been doing this for at least the past six years in Northern Virginia.  Southern Virginia does not have to dial area codes.  I think it has something with all the additional area codes and cell phones.  I am also in the habit of dialing 1 for all calls, local or long distance.  The phone company says that even if you dial 1 you will not be billed long distance charges.  It does not matter to me as I am on one of those unlimited phone plans.

Mike T.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2011

Re: Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 5 of 13
(7,295 Views)

Digital voice.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 6 of 13
(7,291 Views)

All VZ digital voice calls require 10 digit dialing.  I'm surprised you didnt have to start doing this from the beginning.  Its the wave of future.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-08-2011

Re: Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 7 of 13
(7,285 Views)

Verizon just switched it to Digital when they combined my different services. Hence, it was "new" to me. Thanks!

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-11-2011

Re: Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 8 of 13
(7,194 Views)

 


@jumpin68ny wrote:

All VZ digital voice calls require 10 digit dialing.  I'm surprised you didnt have to start doing this from the beginning.  Its the wave of future.


Funny, Comcast seems to have sorted this out with their Digital Voice service.  One would think that a phone company like Verizon could at least match their service level, even if it is VoIP.

 

We use Nortel VoIP phones at work as well - oddly enough, they have no need to dial 10-digits when dialing a local number. 

 

Someone tell me that there is more to it than simple apathy on the part of VZ.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-30-2011

Re: Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 9 of 13
(6,295 Views)

I had Verizon triple play before and was not required to use the area code to call out........WHY THE CHANGE???????

 

I almost never call out my my area code....why create a problem.....obviously, you have the software to make it simpler for your customers/COMCAST DOES!!!!

 

GET WITH IT!!!!

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-07-2011

Re: Area Code Required for Local Calls

Message 10 of 13
(5,839 Views)

I switched from Vonage to Verizon Digital Voice recently because it was cheaper.  Vonage has had 7 digit dialing for years.  Verizon obviously knows when someone dials only 7 digits because it plays a recording telling you to dial the area code.  It could easily be programmed to insert your local area code instead of playing the recording.  Verizon just doesn't seem to be up to date.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.