Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Call Assistant - only for FIOS?

Reply
BAnsl
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Call Assistant - only for FIOS?

Message 1 of 8
(11,174 Views)

I recently received an email from Verizon inviting me to add Call Assistant to my home phone line.

 

So, as directed, I called the Business Office, and was transferred around to several people who had never heard of Call Assistant.

 

After spending 45 minutes on the call, I was eventually told that Call Assitant was only available for FIOS subscribers??!!  I didn't see this mentioned anywhere in the website blurb....

 

Is this correct?   I am certainly not going to spend another 45 minutes on another call to find out.

 

BTW - I am told that FIOS is still a year away in my area.

 

Bryan.

 

 

7 REPLIES 7
HenryFarpolo
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Call Assistant - only for FIOS?

Message 2 of 8
(11,126 Views)

Check out the user guide. It explains how to obtain this free feature and the system requirements;

 

https://www22.verizon.com/callassistant/documents/userguide.pdf

BAnsl
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Re: Call Assistant - only for FIOS?

Message 3 of 8
(11,114 Views)

...well, I already read (and printed) the User Guide" - (see how entheusiastic I was) - but it begins by saying; "You must contact the Verizon Business Office to order VCA.", which is what I did and no-one had heard of it...and then they said I neede FIOS...and so we go, round and round....

 

Thanks,

 

Bryan.

  

HenryFarpolo
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Call Assistant - only for FIOS?

Message 4 of 8
(11,101 Views)
Call the Business Office again tomorrow. If the CSR is not familiar with Call Assistant, ask to speak to a supervisor.
jat454
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-28-2008

Re: Call Assistant - only for FIOS?

Message 5 of 8
(10,484 Views)
It's ridiculous to have to call the buisiness office to get call assistant. You should just be able to go to the web site and sign in and activate it. I've been a Verizon Fios customer for 2 weeks now and I have to say the web site leaves a lot to be desired. A lot of the functions don't work and it is quite slow.
DLJunkie
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-03-2008

Re: Call Assistant - only for FIOS?

Message 6 of 8
(10,408 Views)

I called no one - did it all on line - got an email when it was ready. Took about 18hrs NB!

Took me 2 weeks to get it working thou - That was my fault, but no one in tech support could help!

In fact one high tiered FIOS lady said it was only available in the 5 Bourghs of NYC! LOL

 

{please keep it relevant} 

Message Edited by KaLin on 12-14-2008 03:19 PM
AppleHead
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-13-2008

Re: Call Assistant - only for FIOS?

Message 7 of 8
(9,807 Views)

How is Call Assistant ordered online?  I have searched and am unable to find it.  When I went my account it says my phone information is unavailable at this time.  It's always unavailable.  I recently added FIOS phone to my account, triple play.  What a big mistake!!!  I want to go back to plain old Verizon.  I spent 3 hours on the phone, after 30 minutes on hold, only to finally be transferred to the voice mail number to retrieve my messages!  All I wanted was my IOBI back.  It was on my bill, I love it, and now it is gone.  During one of my call transfers with 5 different people, I was told IOBI did not work with FIOS phone.  I don't understand why.  I have built voice mail and IVR systems.  I think I could get them to work.  They told me Call Assistant is the FIOS way.  I said okay, can I have that.  I have not received an email notification.  I don't know if it has truly been requested.  It was amazing at how many different people I spoke to in 3 hours with Verizon.  But I can no longer call regular Verizon.  My phone number is no longer listed there.  You have to call FIOS which I don't know there number, just happened to get transferred to that office at one point in time.

 

So, can I do this online??  I'd love to have Call Assistant if I can't have IOBI.

Carl
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: Call Assistant - only for FIOS?

Message 8 of 8
(9,793 Views)

I have been able to order it thrice on line. I won't bore you with the details of why I had to re-order it for my primary line. 

 

I seem to recall this last time, I first tried to order it from the Call Assistant site, and it told me that it wasn't available for my line (even though I had it for a week). I then logged into to my verizon.com account and went to modify my services (Add/Change Service link), selected my primary line and lo and behold, it was there ready to be added. 

 

It then takes a day or 2 for it to be active.

 

 

p.s. I am in Southern California, you YMMV. 

Message Edited by Carl on 01-25-2009 06:24 PM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title