Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Caller ID displayed on TV set activation question.

SOLVED
Reply
kouya
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-03-2009

Caller ID displayed on TV set activation question.

Message 1 of 5
(3,880 Views)

I have 1 multi-rm DVR, 2 HD cable boxes and 2 STB. If I want to activate the caller ID feature to display on my TV do I need to activate the feature on each cable box?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: Caller ID displayed on TV set activation question.

Message 3 of 5
(3,820 Views)

@walt178 wrote:

@kouya wrote:

I have 1 multi-rm DVR, 2 HD cable boxes and 2 STB. If I want to activate the caller ID feature to display on my TV do I need to activate the feature on each cable box?


No.  


Correction to my prior answer.

 

You must "Check Availability" on each STB. Once that is done, the "Alert Display" can be enabled or disabled on each STB independent of the others.

 

Thanks to armond_in_nj  for prompting me to look into it further.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: Caller ID displayed on TV set activation question.

Message 2 of 5
(3,826 Views)

@kouya wrote:

I have 1 multi-rm DVR, 2 HD cable boxes and 2 STB. If I want to activate the caller ID feature to display on my TV do I need to activate the feature on each cable box?


No.  

walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: Caller ID displayed on TV set activation question.

Message 3 of 5
(3,821 Views)

@walt178 wrote:

@kouya wrote:

I have 1 multi-rm DVR, 2 HD cable boxes and 2 STB. If I want to activate the caller ID feature to display on my TV do I need to activate the feature on each cable box?


No.  


Correction to my prior answer.

 

You must "Check Availability" on each STB. Once that is done, the "Alert Display" can be enabled or disabled on each STB independent of the others.

 

Thanks to armond_in_nj  for prompting me to look into it further.

View solution in original post

22Becca22
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Caller ID displayed on TV set activation question.

Message 4 of 5
(3,782 Views)

@kouya wrote:

I have 1 multi-rm DVR, 2 HD cable boxes and 2 STB. If I want to activate the caller ID feature to display on my TV do I need to activate the feature on each cable box?


 

 

Hello,

 

Yes, caller ID has to be activated on each set top box, and it takes 24-48 hours to see the alerts after activation.

 

First thing, though, as per walt178 has said, is to check for availability of caller ID based on your current services.

 

Also, there are some standard STBs that are not compatible with the caller ID feature.

 

For additional details on caller ID including set-up steps, please see the below link:

http://www22.verizon.com/Support/Residential/Tv/FiosTv/General+Support/Account+Issues/QuestionsOne/1...

 

There is also a Caller ID Troubleshooting wizard if you run into any issues:

From the FiOS TV remote:  Menu -- Customer Support -- In-Home Agent -- Caller ID TroubleShoot

 

 

Hope this helps!

 

 

 

kouya
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-03-2009

Re: Caller ID displayed on TV set activation question.

Message 5 of 5
(3,705 Views)

Gentlemen

Thanks for the info I got Caller id up and running

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.