Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

FIOS Voice -- Can I convert back to copper without a charge?

Reply
psuox86
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-22-2009

FIOS Voice -- Can I convert back to copper without a charge?

Message 1 of 5
(6,715 Views)
I have FIOS voice service and want to switch it back to copper service.  The FIOS voice service itself is not bad.  But we have had numerous power outages (one lasting 5 days) over the last year and lost all home phone service during that time period.  I want to switch back but don't want to pay a huge service charge to do it.
4 REPLIES 4
Bob_Robertson
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

Re: FIOS Voice -- Can I convert back to copper without a charge?

Message 2 of 5
(6,678 Views)
This would be best answered by the Billing and Orders department.... but just basics wise... you are in a contract for your FiOS, so by cancelling your Fios phone, you are ending the contract early.... so you would be subject to whatever fees that are entailed with doing so.... and on the flipside, starting "new" (eventhough you had it before) copper service, there may be charges fees entailed with that... you may be able to get sertain things waived, but I would not epect that to be a free (or fun or fast) process, by anymeans... best of luck
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bob Robertson - Lighter Klepto - I steal lighters, not bandwith
jmcohen23
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎01-30-2009

Re: FIOS Voice -- Can I convert back to copper without a charge?

Message 3 of 5
(6,615 Views)

that's interesting b/c I was told that if there was a power outage, I could still use my land line (albeit it would have to be a corded phone).

 

please re-post when you find out more info, b/c I would like to know as well.

 

thanks!

You've got to be very careful if you don't know where you're going, because you might not get there. --Yogi Berra
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: FIOS Voice -- Can I convert back to copper without a charge?

Message 4 of 5
(6,606 Views)

@jmcohen23 wrote:

that's interesting b/c I was told that if there was a power outage, I could still use my land line (albeit it would have to be a corded phone).

 

please re-post when you find out more info, b/c I would like to know as well.

 

thanks!


If there is a power outage you can still use your hardwired phone on FIOS, until the battery back up expires. Battery lasts up to 8 hours. The battery back up only supports the telephone while the power is out.

Message Edited by prisaz on 05-27-2009 05:56 PM
Message Edited by prisaz on 05-27-2009 05:57 PM
psuox86
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-22-2009

Re: FIOS Voice -- Can I convert back to copper without a charge?

Message 5 of 5
(6,380 Views)

That is true.  However, my two outages were 5 days and 14 hours respectively.  I can live without phone service in my home for 14 hours, but 5 days is not acceptable.  Definitely a flaw in their service (i.e. - what would happen in a disaster scenario?).  I know we all have cell phones but I should be able to make a call from home too.

 

They told me that you can still use a hard wire phone on the jack in my FIOS box but tell the wife and kid's they have to go outside to make a call and watch the feathers fly.

 

Going back to copper when my contract expires in the Fall.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.