×

Switch Account

Fax line already supplied with internet or home phone line?

Fax line already supplied with internet or home phone line?

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2009
Message 1 of 12
(14,672 Views)
I wasn't quite sure where to put this, so if this is the wrong forum, then please feel free to move it.  I called my local representative for Verizon and was asking about a fax line.  This person told me that it was already provided with the internet service and transfered me over to the DSL department.  Well, they have no idea what I was really talking about.  They said to try a fax and see what happens, but I don't even know my supposed fax number.  Was I told the truth?  If not, is there a way that I can get a fax number and line?  I have a printer, scanner, copier and fax all in one.  Thanks for any help that can be provided.
11 REPLIES 11
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009
Message 2 of 12
(14,663 Views)

Do you have Home Phone service thruVerizon or do you have a DSL Dry Loop ?


If you have phone service and you send and receive a lot of faxes you may want a line dedicated to faxing.  You will need to call Verizon and request a 2nd line to your house.

 

If you have phone service and only send/receive the occassional fax then you may want to try to use your existing phone line.

If you have a DSL Dry Loop Connection then you will need to request a Verizon Phone Line.

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2009
Message 3 of 12
(14,642 Views)
I have both home phone and DSL through Verizon.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 4 of 12
(14,634 Views)

IF your computer is equipped with a fax modem then there will be an RJ11 jack on the rear  (an RJ11 jack is what your telephone(s) plug into; it looks similar to the RJ45 jack used for ethernet/DSL but is smaller).

 

Simply plug a telephone cord from the computer's RJ11 jack to a standard telephone wall jack.

 

If you need to use a wall jack that already has a phone connected, you will likely find that the computer has 2 RJ11 jacks.  If so, simply unplug the telephone from the wall jack and connect the telephone to the computer; then connect the computer's 2nd RJ11 jack to the wall jack. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2009
Message 5 of 12
(14,602 Views)
Kvelling:

I'm more confused than ever now.  Even though the printer is already connected to the computer, I still have to connect it the way you suggested as well?
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2009
Message 6 of 12
(14,599 Views)

Brian,

 

That's the thing.  I did call Verizon for a dedicated line for faxing and they said that it was already included with the internet, and I don't know my own fax number, if that is the case.  Also, how would I test it?  The only fax that I know of is where my room mate works and that is a hospital.  I'm not sure I can test it there.  I really just need it to send faxes to my online college financial aid department and professors, because I don't want to keep running out to send them.

 

Charlie

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎06-17-2009
Message 7 of 12
(14,590 Views)

A fax machine is nothing more than a phone that sends pretty pictures.

 

 

You plug it into your phone line and it has whatever fone number of that phone line.

 

 

Plug the fax machine into your fone line and send the fax.

 

 

I dont think your computer has anything to do with your fax machine EVEN if it is one of those HP fax machine/printer/scanner combo thingies.

 

They are designed to work independantly.

... and by the way, i like turtles
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009
Message 8 of 12
(14,572 Views)

It sounds like your Fax Number is the same as your Phone Number.

 

You would only need a dedicated fax Line if you did a lot of faxing and you wanted a 2nd separate phone line for it, along with its additional costs.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2009
Message 9 of 12
(14,563 Views)
Thanks.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2009
Message 10 of 12
(14,508 Views)
Ok.  I tried it and it doesn't work.  So there is NO solution yet.  I am messing with the cords now, but why is it not working?  I don't think I have a fax number...at all.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.