Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

FiOS and ADT/Brinks Security

Reply
urbanmusher
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-03-2012

FiOS and ADT/Brinks Security

Message 1 of 8
(5,346 Views)

Are these compatible or not?  I have had ADT for years with no problems.  As soon as FiOS was installed, my alarm system no longer worked.  Verizon absolutely REFUSES to take responsibility for this and says it is NOT their issue.

7 REPLIES 7
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: FiOS and ADT/Brinks Security

Message 2 of 8
(5,342 Views)

They are compatible,   Did you point out to the installer that you had one when he was installing?  maybe he didn't terminate it correctly to the fios. 

urbanmusher
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-03-2012

Re: FiOS and ADT/Brinks Security

Message 3 of 8
(5,334 Views)

I did tell the Verizon installer about the alarm system.  My mistake was just taking his word for it when he said everything would work fine.  I didn't test it until the next day and at that point ADT said they would come out and fix it at a cost of close to $200.  They (ADT) said the systems ARE compatible IF Verizon installs the FiOS line correctly.  When I called Verizon back and told them of my problem they said everything isobviously installed correctly because my phone is working.  Doing more research online, I see this is a problem and it does appear to be due to incorrect installation on Verizon's part but ADT is able to fix it, but at my expense.

 

Wish I would have done my research prior to the installation and asked ADT what to watch for and what info to give the FiOS installer.  Verizon is OBVIOUSLY aware of this problem but will not acknowledge it and will not correct it. 

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: FiOS and ADT/Brinks Security

Message 4 of 8
(5,331 Views)

It sounds like just a lack of education on the part of tech support.  You should call back and try to get it escalated if needed.  Tell the rep your problem, hope you get someone that has some idea about what you are talking about, if they don't then just keep going until you get someone that does.  It just needs to be terminated properly. 

urbanmusher
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-03-2012

Re: FiOS and ADT/Brinks Security

Message 5 of 8
(5,320 Views)

Unfortunately it is always at least a 20 minute hold time to get thru to tech support.  Last time I called I did escalate up the line of supervisors but the end result was, if my phone (landline) is working they have done everything correctly.  Really too bad their customer service is so poor.  Can't recommend Verizon FiOS to anyone in the future.  So disappointed in their service and support.

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,562
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: FiOS and ADT/Brinks Security

Message 6 of 8
(5,280 Views)

Keep in mind this is an issue between who did the install correctly and if the gear is compatible. If the tech was informed of the alarm system AND ADP/Brinks configued their system in a tie-in setup to have all of the home's wiring connected to the alarm panel and then the alarm panel connects to the Verizon network for a seize case, this could be a compatibility issue with FiOS DV (which is carrier grade VoIP) which does not play well with some systems. This is an equipment design issue with Brinks, not a Verizon problem.

 

If the tech did not correctly locate the key wire going to the alarm panel and there is a mess of cabling everywhere making tracing pretty tough, this is a cable mangement problem and techincally Verizon did the job to the best of their ability to ensure your home was connected.

 

If the tech intentionally did not locate your alarm's panel and instead decided to bypass the alarm, that would be an installer part. If the technician was told, acknowledged the alarm and simply forgot about the alarm, that's human error. If the tech didn't take the feed coming from your previous service, probably from the copper NID and attach it to the ONT, he either ran a new line and did not connect it to your line, which case this is a Verizon error, or, if he re-used the same line you're hitting point #1.

 

If ADT/Brinks did not install the panel correctly and instead tied it into your home's wiring without the home's wiring going through it to seize the line in the event of an emergency or report, this is something they need to fix, not Verizon.

 

Ultimately if you know where your telephone cabling meets (should be a central location), and ideally at that point going towards the ONT, reaching your alarm panel and finally, the ONT, you can figure out who the correct party is to blame.

urbanmusher
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-03-2012

Re: FiOS and ADT/Brinks Security

Message 7 of 8
(5,229 Views)

Thanks for this helpful information, but I'm still annoyed with Verizon for not even acknowledging their role in this mess.  Alarm worked BEFORE FiOS install and did not work AFTER . 

LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10,710
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: FiOS and ADT/Brinks Security

Message 8 of 8
(1,549 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.