Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

SOLVED
Reply
n4wwl
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-18-2020

How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 1 of 11
(2,746 Views)

I have a Shoretel 655 VoIP phone that I'd like to connect to my existing FiOS digital voice landline service.  Is this possible?  I have searched the Verizon website and can't find anything on this.  Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.  Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,950
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 10 of 11
(2,437 Views)

Your IP phone should just start working when you connect it to your router. However I have seen setups where you have to get on the company’s VPN for the phone to work from home. Did you try troubleshooting with your company IT department?

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,950
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 2 of 11
(2,698 Views)

Just connect it to the LAN port of your router. 

mfizzy
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-23-2013

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 3 of 11
(2,680 Views)

Fios Digital voice isnt a true VOIP service. In your home the connections will be traditional phone jacks and require tradition phones.

n4wwl
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-18-2020

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 4 of 11
(2,678 Views)

I appreciate the suggestion, but unfortunately that doesn't work.  I'm using a MI424WR router with 4 LAN ports.   The phone will startup and go through its power cycle, but then says "No MGC IP configured".  I was hoping that whatever it was looking for it would pull from Verizon through the router, but apparently not.

n4wwl
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-18-2020

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 5 of 11
(2,677 Views)

I understand my regular FiOS service is not VoIP.  But i was wondering if it is possible to hook up a VoIP phone over FiOS to my regular landline network.  Apparently it's not easy, if possible at all.

gs0b
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 6 of 11
(2,653 Views)

You can't connect a VoIP phone to the FiOS Digital Voice  (FDV) service.  The ONT serves as the VoIP endpoint for FDV.  You can wire the ONT's analog phone output to as many analog phones as you'd like and they will be connected to FDV.

 

FDV has many services available through the web site, app and dial codes.

 

Why do you want to connect your VoIP phone?

 

n4wwl
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-18-2020

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 7 of 11
(2,554 Views)

Thanks for the info.  It's an extra phone with nice features -- better than my landline phones -- and I am simply exploring options for using it.

gs0b
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,879
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 8 of 11
(2,518 Views)

What features does it have that you'd like to use?  There may be similar features built in to FDV.

 

n4wwl
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-18-2020

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 9 of 11
(2,461 Views)

I'm sure FDV would allow us to do more than we do now.  But all of our landlines are simple cordless phones with monochrome line displays.  Rather boring by comparison to the large color display and ability to see numbers most frequently called on the VOIP phone.  More an issue of aesthetics rather than functionality I guess. 

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,950
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: How Do I Connect VOIP Phone to Fios Digital Voice Landline Service?

Message 10 of 11
(2,438 Views)

Your IP phone should just start working when you connect it to your router. However I have seen setups where you have to get on the company’s VPN for the phone to work from home. Did you try troubleshooting with your company IT department?

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.