×

Switch Account

Parental Controls in Digital Voice

Parental Controls in Digital Voice

Reply
Contributor TomHugh
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
Message 1 of 9
(4,855 Views)

When I go to Digital Voice on my set top box it always asks if I want to set up Parental Controls.  I mistakenly hit yes.  Now, I can't get back in.  Where do I disable this?  There is nothing in the User Guide.

 

8 REPLIES 8
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,220
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 2 of 9
(4,827 Views)

You can change the parental control settings by pressing menu, then going to SETTINGS then to PARENTAL CONTROLS. If you do not have your pin or can't login to change the settings, please send me a private message.

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

Contributor theking
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2009
Message 3 of 9
(4,811 Views)

I had the same problem. I had done the same thing. Unplug the box. You can leave the TV on. Wait 15 or more seconds. Plug the box back in. Wait for it to cycle through the initiating process. When the time shows up on the front of the box - if you left the TV on you will see the screen show press MENU on the remote to get a signal to you TV. Then you should have the question asking you if you want to set parental controls again. Just press NO and you should be back to where you were originally.

Contributor JemmyDucks
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
Message 4 of 9
(4,685 Views)
Thanks. That did the trick.
Contributor delwool
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-27-2012
Message 5 of 9
(4,571 Views)

I too accidentally hit "yes" to activate parental controls, I went to the menu, created a pin then turned them off, but I still cannot view my call log or voice mails from my television.  What do I do?

Contributor valeriol
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2013
Message 6 of 9
(4,199 Views)

You'll need to power cycle the box (unplug, wait 15 seconds, plug back in).

 

This is by Verizon, you can't expect it to work properly.

Highlighted
Contributor 4wheeler
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-31-2012
Message 7 of 9
(3,801 Views)
Thank you! Your advice of unplugging the set top box etc worked perfectly.
Copper Contributor mark_schlegel
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-21-2012
Message 8 of 9
(1,554 Views)

I had the exact same problem, I was sloppy in using the digital voice menu and accidentally hit "yes" on the parental control question.  So I went into the "resetpin" page on verizon.com/resetpin, got the temp pin by email from there and used that to set the pin back to a memorable 0000.  But the stupid call logs are still locked even thought the parental controls all show as "OFF".   What they really need is to have the parental control activation ONLY in the web site, then you'd reduce this accidental lockout to being nearly impossible since you'd not hit it accidentally in the remote. Or a good compromise would be to bury it in the menu-> settings somewhere and away from the DV call logs menu.

Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,284
Registered: ‎03-18-2013
Message 9 of 9
(1,517 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.