×

Switch Account

VCA Registration Issues

VCA Registration Issues

Reply
Contributor Angelamou
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-18-2009
Message 5 of 43
(15,068 Views)

I have sent in a request to install and activate call assistance but I received an e-mail saying that they couldn't get a hold of me and to call the ecenter,I can't tell you how many times I have done that and noone knows how to help me,I end up somewhere in India talking to someone who has no idea how to speak English.Why can't they just fix it I don't think I want to put myself through that again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contributor VTFan
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-17-2009
Message 11 of 43
(12,982 Views)

Before we got the Fios bundle, we had Vonage for home phone service.  I really liked Vonage and all of the features it provided.  I read about Call Assistant and assumed I would be getting virtually the same services once we switched.  However, the "We cannot process your request.  Call your local Verizon business office" error message on the Call Assistant web page got pretty annoying after 2 weeks.  After battling with customer service like you folks, I finally talked to someone that told me Call Assistant was not available to me because I have fiber-optic lines instead of copper.  The techs at the eCenter, which I called multiple times, should know something as basic as that, in my opinion.  Essentially, getting Fios gave me an upgrade from Cox (cable and internet) but a downgrade from Vonage (as far as services).

 

The only thing available to me now is having our home voice mail send me a text message when we get a new voice mail message.  I haven't tried it yet but it's pretty disappointing that that's all I get after being so happy with Vonage.  If I'd known what was truly going to be available to me before I switched, I would have stayed with Vonage and just gotten Fios internet and cable.  And I could have kept my old phone number.

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 12 of 43
(12,595 Views)

Finally received a message saying my call assistant sign up was accepted and that I should activate it.  I get to the point of entering Userid and password and I get a message saying

 

We are experiencing a delay in setting up your account. Please try again later

 

Is this normal and if so how long does one have to wait normally?

 

Would like to get this resolved as soon as possible as I believe this is a prerequisite for getting caller id on TV to work.

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 13 of 43
(12,552 Views)

This message in the FIOS TV Technical Assistance forum probably explains what happened but not why it appears to be impossible to for me to sign up for VCA

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/Caller-ID-questions/m-p/135735#M16811

 

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 14 of 43
(12,495 Views)

I've managed to get Tech Support to manually activate my account and add my userid to it - the automatic adding of the userid which didn't occur was why I couldn't  activate it.

Now after logging on to the Call Assistant section am trying to download the software and it just sits there for ever downloading nothing.

 

Anybody have a copy of the Call Assistant software installer, It's apparently called    

 NVerizonCallAssistant.exe 

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 15 of 43
(12,446 Views)

Finally managed to get the download to run and get VCA installed

Everything works great

Caller ID now appearing on TVs and PCs with no problems

 

Contributor Bishop06
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Message 17 of 43
(9,575 Views)

I want to see my land line calls on line.  I went thru the steps to get the call assistant activated last week. It is still not active. Shows 90% processed.  How long does this take? I think this is a little ridiculous.

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 3,885
Registered: ‎06-25-2009
Message 18 of 43
(9,574 Views)

 


@Bishop06 wrote:

I want to see my land line calls on line.  I went thru the steps to get the call assistant activated last week. It is still not active. Shows 90% processed.  How long does this take? I think this is a little ridiculous.


 

The system has up to 24 hour delay.

 

"Today is my birthday. Time to celebrate!!!!."
Contributor BARTONATOR
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2008
Message 19 of 43
(9,097 Views)

I too am unable to get anyone at Verizon to help me with my VCA registration. I registered and they emailed me saying my order had been fulfilled but when I log in it says I'm not registered. If I then try to reister it says "you already have it" and it is listed amongst my services.

Kind of ironic that an assistant needs assistance!

In Vonage it took me about 5mins to configure forwarding my voice mails to my email (what I really want out of this VCA).

I'm just amazed at how few people seem to have heard of this on the customer service side.

I'm sure if I could get my hands on the client I would be able to resolve this in about 2 minutes.

Copper Contributor daterps
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 20 of 43
(6,676 Views)

I just signed up for Verizon Phone service, received a number of emails about Verizon Call Assistant and downloaded the client.  I was able to login to the verizon.com website using my ID and password, but not through the VCA desktop client on a Win XP machine.

 

I called tech support and they said that it would take 24-48 hours to get the database updated and then I should be able to login.  That happened last Wednesday.

 

I just called back in and waited on hold for 20 minutes before the latest tech support person told me that they are having issues with the service for the last 8 weeks and I wouldn't be able to login at all.

 

This is ridiculous.

 

And, on top of this, there is no way to automatically email a voicemail file to a designated destination.  C'mon Verizon...it is June 2010.  Get with the program and enable this functionality.

 

I came from Comcast Digital Voice and they didn't have it either, but I could probably spend 10 minutes studying how to write code and another 20 minutes to develop this myself. 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.