×

Switch Account

Verizon Call Assistant

Verizon Call Assistant

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor Sheryl82449
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-05-2009
Message 1 of 27
(16,389 Views)
It worked fine until a couple days ago when I did the mandatory update.  Now it will not work and I get the constant message "connection with the server is down.  Please try again later.  Can I get it working again?
26 REPLIES 26
Copper Contributor TerryB
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Message 2 of 27
(16,327 Views)
I ordered mine on 5-27-09. It's been nothing but a pain to get evrything working. I've probably talked to twenty different Verizon techs on the phone since then. I'd guess 90% didn't even know what I was asking about. On 6-4-09 I was transferred no less than five times before I was finally told there were bugs in the system  that were that had to be worked out. My server has been down for two days now. I can access from my account, but I shouldn't have to. The pop-up feature also does not function yet. I spent a good hour and a half on the phone to find this out. I know this feature is free, but the upgrade I had to switch to wasn't. All I've gained so far is voicemail and my DSL is a little faster. I'm sick of calling and getting the run around by people that don't even know their own product.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 3 of 27
(16,307 Views)
Call assistant has been down since the update. Verizon says their techs are working to resolve the issue. Looks like they pushed out the update without proper testing.
Contributor Don_Hao
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-17-2009
Message 4 of 27
(16,308 Views)

I'm also getting the same message since the mandatory update. Until then everything worked perfectly. I've uninstalled and reinstalled but still can't connect to the server. I hope there's a fix for this soon. I miss my call assistant.

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 5 of 27
(16,296 Views)

@Don_Hao wrote:

I'm also getting the same message since the mandatory update. Until then everything worked perfectly. I've uninstalled and reinstalled but still can't connect to the server. I hope there's a fix for this soon. I miss my call assistant.


What mandatory update? How were you notified about it? I have had CA for probably a year or so, no updates, and no problems except for an occasional "lost contact with server" type of message. It is working for me right now, and has been for many months. It sounds like some new client version has some severe problems but the old client just keeps chugging along.....

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248

Copper Contributor TerryB
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Message 6 of 27
(16,290 Views)
I was also told by a verizon tech that there were problems with an update and a newer version would be up and running at the end of the month.
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 7 of 27
(16,289 Views)

@TerryB wrote:
I was also told by a verizon tech that there were problems with an update and a newer version would be up and running at the end of the month.

I wonder why they don't just put the old version back up on the website for download until they fix the problem?

 

FWIW, whenever I want to get a program (any program, not just the CA client) I download it first and install from the download, I don't just install it directly from the website. That way, if I have trouble with a newer version I still have the older version to go back to. Works most of the time.....

 

I am still confused about how people got a newer version the client, I was never offered or told to get a newer one. Not that I am complaining because my old one is still working, just one of life's little mysteries I guess.....

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 10 of 27
(16,255 Views)

@Justin wrote:

@TerryB wrote:
I was also told by a verizon tech that there were problems with an update and a newer version would be up and running at the end of the month.

I wonder why they don't just put the old version back up on the website for download until they fix the problem?

 

FWIW, whenever I want to get a program (any program, not just the CA client) I download it first and install from the download, I don't just install it directly from the website. That way, if I have trouble with a newer version I still have the older version to go back to. Works most of the time.....

 

I am still confused about how people got a newer version the client, I was never offered or told to get a newer one. Not that I am complaining because my old one is still working, just one of life's little mysteries I guess.....

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248


On Friday when I started my PC, when CA opened there was a popup that stated there was a mandatory update for CA. When I downloaded the update, CA stopped  functioning....it couldn't access the server.

 

Seems like a long time to wait, if it won't be fixed until the end of the month. You are indeed fortunate, that you missed this one!!

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 11 of 27
(16,252 Views)

HenryFarpolo wrote: 

On Friday when I started my PC, when CA opened there was a popup that stated there was a mandatory update for CA. When I downloaded the update, CA stopped  functioning....it couldn't access the server.

 

Seems like a long time to wait, if it won't be fixed until the end of the month. You are indeed fortunate, that you missed this one!!


Henry,

 

Thanks for the info.

 

I have done a little looking at what I have. The program that gets executed when I start CA is VZVidgetEngine.exe, which has a version of 2.7.28.0 and it appears I installed it on 4/28/08. Of course there are other CA-related files in the same folder.

 

I went to the folder where I store all of my downloads and I find a file called VerizonCallAssistant,exe with a date of 4/27/09. So it appears my memory is a little faulty, apparently I did download an updated CA, replacing the original download, but I never installed it, and thus I guess that is the reason mine is still working. And based on what all of you are saying about the new version I am not going to install it!

 

You are right, it is an awfuly long time to wait for a working version; as I said, I don't understand why they don't just make the old version available again until the fixed new one is ready. Not very good PR in my view....

 

Edit: Henry, is it worth it to you if I try to go back to one of my backups and pull off the original download version? It is 5 MB+, I could try attaching it to an email and sending it to you if you have enough space in your inbox (I do not have a file server). PM me if you are interested and I will see what I can do.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248

Message Edited by Justin on 06-07-2009 11:00 AM
Copper Contributor TerryB
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Message 12 of 27
(16,239 Views)
I just looked up my version. It's 2.7.55, installed on 6-2-09. I'm stiil getting the message that one of the serevers are down.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.