Verizon Call Assistant

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-07-2009

Call assistant not working after upgraded

Message 8 of 27
(13,452 Views)

Call assistant was working fine on my Vista machine, but after it upgraded to new software, it cant connect to the server.

I checked my firewall and all.

Any ideas what to do?

I have uninstalled/reinstalled.

Still wont connect.

 

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-19-2008

Re: Call assistant not working after upgraded

Message 9 of 27
(13,446 Views)

Me too. I have Vista 64-bit. Call Assistant insisted that I upgrade it a couple of days ago. Since the upgrade, when I try to start it complains that it can't connect to one of the servers.

 

The ironic part is that I have an answering machine but I also have verizon voicemail. The day after upgrading call assistant, I get a call from verizon that went to verizon voicemail. Since I have FIOS tv, I am assuming they are trying to sell me HBO again :). Anyhow, since I can't get call assistance to work, I can't listen to the voicemail 🙂

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Call assistant not working after upgraded

Message 13 of 27
(13,429 Views)

There is a thread over in the FiOS TV forum (wrong place I know) on this same subject, one poster saysthe upgrade was supposedly to fix the Caller ID failure problem that some users experienced:

 

http://forums.verizon.com/vrzn/board/message?board.id=FiOS_TV&thread.id=11200

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248

Message Edited by Justin on 06-07-2009 03:11 PM
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-09-2009

Re: Call assistant not working after upgraded

Message 14 of 27
(13,377 Views)

I had call assitant activated a few weeks ago, but never tried to use it.

 

Yesterday  I tried activating on the website, tried again today, and keep on getting this error:

"We are experiencing a delay in setting up your account. Please try again later." 

 

Do you think it is related to the problem discussed in this thread?

 

P. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-09-2009

Re: Call assistant not working after upgraded

Message 15 of 27
(13,345 Views)

Ha!  I don't know my voicemail access number either.  I have always used VCA.

 

BTW, you can also just log into the web site to listen to the voicemail, you don't have to use the desktop client.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

Re: Verizon Call Assistant

Message 16 of 27
(13,459 Views)
Go and open My Computer,then go and open, the "C" folder then go and open, Program Files folder then go and open Verizon then go and open Call Assistant folder,then go to DCClient_Retail right click on it to edit(in notepad) ,then go edit line HostIPAddress" value="www36.verizon.com" to HostIPAddress" value="www36p.verizon.com", then save the file and restart the computer. This should fix the problem and you can use Call Assistant

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

Re: Verizon Call Assistant

Message 17 of 27
(13,279 Views)
Yes that work out.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-17-2009

Re: Verizon Call Assistant

Message 18 of 27
(13,252 Views)
Thank you! Your advice has my call assistant working again. 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-11-2009

Re: Verizon Call Assistant

Message 19 of 27
(13,225 Views)
Appreciate the point on help which corrected the problem.  Two frustrating hours being bounced all over the world, to people (half of whom did not speak recognizable English) I couldn't even find anyone that admitted either knowing or having responsibility for the program.  Had it not been for an automated message from Verizon inquiring how well they had "solved" my problem I would have not found this site.  Thanks again 
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-19-2008

Re: Verizon Call Assistant

Message 20 of 27
(13,189 Views)

Okay, I did the new file. But I'm back where I started. I can access my VCA, but I can't do anything beyond checking my calls. When I try to use the drop down menu everything freezes.

Message Edited by TerryB on 06-11-2009 11:29 AM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.