×

Switch Account

Why is there only a 10-number block limit on incoming calls?

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎10-05-2011

Re: Why is there only a 10-number block limit on incoming calls?

Message 21 of 28
(2,951 Views)

I wasn't aware of this but that's good to know.  I also use nomorobo.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-24-2015

Why is there only a 100-number block limit on incoming calls?

Message 22 of 28
(2,922 Views)

Ok, being able to block up to 100 telephone numbers is great.  My unwanted calls have  dropped from over 40 a week to about 5.  Nomorobo works great too but the phone rings once before nomorobo cancels the call.  This is annoying.  Blocking calls is the way to go, so thanks Verizon for finally doing your job.  I'm up to 56 blocked numbers.  I'll soon run out.  How about increasing the blocked call limit to 1000.  Also blocking ID's with no numbers would be great too.  Names like Private, Anonymous, and Unavailable.  Thanks again for doing your job.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014

Re: Why is there only a 100-number block limit on incoming calls?

Message 23 of 28
(2,913 Views)

fwiw, i can only block more than 10 numbers using pc interface, when i tried to block 11th number using fiostv menu, i got error about only blocking 10 number maximum....so i quickly got on puter to try and it works from here, so now we're up to 11 numbers blocked, certain to reach 100 by end of year......if fios being sold to frontier doesn't interfere with everything

 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014

Re: Why is there only a 10-number block limit on incoming calls?

Message 24 of 28
(2,867 Views)

hmmmmm, i think that even though there are 100 slots available to enter  numbers to block incoming calls from (when entered by computer) , maybe only the first 10  entered actually get blocked......got a call from a blocked number  after it was added to our list from previous day

 

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-10-2012

Re: Why is there only a 10-number block limit on incoming calls?

Message 25 of 28
(2,744 Views)

Does anybody know why telephone numbers that I added to the block list last week are not being blocked. ?  I get the multiple calls daily  on Massachuseets electric rates scam from a "blocked" number.

 

Thanks

 

 

 

 

  

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Why is there only a 10-number block limit on incoming calls?

Message 26 of 28
(2,660 Views)

@ramsey76 wrote:

Does anybody know why telephone numbers that I added to the block list last week are not being blocked. ? ...  


Several ways they could be bypassing the check.  One simple one is to identify a different phone number as the callerid name.  Of course often both numbesr are phony. 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014

Re: Why is there only a 10-number block limit on incoming calls?

Message 27 of 28
(2,648 Views)

i've read in these forums that the incoming call block won't stop calls from outside your calling area, but haven't been able to confirm that with Verizon. anyone else read that on an official verizon info page?  if that is true for FiOS digital voice, then why doesn't  the interface throw up an error when i add an out-of-area number to the  block list?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Why is there only a 10-number block limit on incoming calls?

Message 28 of 28
(2,623 Views)

@the_madscanner wrote:

i've read in these forums that the incoming call block won't stop calls from outside your calling area, but haven't been able to confirm that with Verizon. anyone else read that on an official verizon info page?  if that is true for FiOS digital voice, then why doesn't  the interface throw up an error when i add an out-of-area number to the  block list?


Its not completely true, but they are covering themselves since some area don't pass the information needed to block them (for legitimate callers).  Of course the worse robocallers bypass all protection anyway.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.