Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

SOLVED
Reply
will2pwr
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-28-2014

no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

Message 1 of 8
(1,582 Views)

I have dsl/internate connection but no dial tone.

I visited 

https://www.verizon.com/ForYourHome/VZRepair/vziha/Service.aspx?ihaweb=WebNoDialTone

and run the test. The progress bar cycles for a while and then disappears but the message

Verizon Network Test in Progress
Please wait while we look for potential issues with the verizon network. 

(This test can take several minutes to complete)

remains for 1/2 hr or so (more than 3 or 4 minutes)

 

I click the in home agent link and it recycles forever.

 

I can't ge to the schedule appt or create ticket until the test completes.  (so, never).

 

I'm hoping verizon is reading this and will contact me. Please.

 

 

Equipment IssuesSchedule AppointmentCreate Ticket


Verizon Network Test in Progress
Please wait while we look for potential issues with the verizon network. 

(This test can take several minutes to complete)


 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
will2pwr
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-28-2014

Re: no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

Message 5 of 8
(1,483 Views)

 

Thanks for your reply. I started by chatting but when they found out it was a landline problem they sent me to the page that starts with testing your line remotely. That test never completed.

 

I couldn't call in because my phone didn't work.

 

I couldn't get a repair ticket because you had to complete the online test first.

 

I eventually started another chat and the person I chatted with agreed to call for me and create a repair ticket. They found out there was trouble in the area and it wasn't just my line.

 

A perfect end to the story: a couple days later I got a phone call from Verizon telling me my line was working. Then I got an email asking me to fill out a survey. I clicked on the response and it took me to an invalid URL.

 

So it goes.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,013
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

Message 2 of 8
(1,575 Views)

Hello will2pwr,

While a Verizon employee may occasionally post here, this community is meant mainly for peer-to-peer support. If you need to talk to a Verizon representative, you should contact customer service directly using the Support Page or Contact Us.

 

 

Telcoguru
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

Message 3 of 8
(1,556 Views)

If you have a NID (Network Interface Device) open it up and plug a working phone in the test port. If you do not have dial tone contact Verizon repair to send out a technician.

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,590
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

Message 4 of 8
(1,494 Views)

If your connection is dropping the test results will not return. You'll have to call in.

will2pwr
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-28-2014

Re: no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

Message 5 of 8
(1,484 Views)

 

Thanks for your reply. I started by chatting but when they found out it was a landline problem they sent me to the page that starts with testing your line remotely. That test never completed.

 

I couldn't call in because my phone didn't work.

 

I couldn't get a repair ticket because you had to complete the online test first.

 

I eventually started another chat and the person I chatted with agreed to call for me and create a repair ticket. They found out there was trouble in the area and it wasn't just my line.

 

A perfect end to the story: a couple days later I got a phone call from Verizon telling me my line was working. Then I got an email asking me to fill out a survey. I clicked on the response and it took me to an invalid URL.

 

So it goes.

View solution in original post

will2pwr
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-28-2014

Re: no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

Message 6 of 8
(1,482 Views)

Thanks for your reply. I was having trouble contacting Verizon.

will2pwr
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-28-2014

Re: no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

Message 7 of 8
(1,481 Views)

My phone was out of order. I couldn't call in.

manhattanNYC
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 197
Registered: ‎02-04-2012

Re: no dial tone; Verizon Network Test in Progress (forever)

Message 8 of 8
(1,474 Views)

verizon push yout to   Fios, they do not want to fix it

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title