Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

no vmail indication on the phone

Reply
skoa330
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-23-2008

no vmail indication on the phone

Message 1 of 24
(11,284 Views)

When I was on digital Comcast if someone left a vmail the light would blink on the phone indicating we had a message.  With Verizon  FIOS this does not seem to work - why?

 

 

How are you supposed to know when you have vmail?

23 REPLIES 23
DerekB
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Re: no vmail indication on the phone

Message 2 of 24
(11,246 Views)
With Verizon, the way to know that you have a voice mail is a stutter dialtone when you pick up the phone.  Also they offer visual message waiting indicator, I am not sure if its an extra charge, but it is available.
skoa330
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-23-2008

Re: no vmail indication on the phone

Message 3 of 24
(11,208 Views)
Thankyou for the reply - do you now what steps I need to take to see how to gain access to this visual message waiting indicator?
Beckie0000
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-05-2009

Re: no vmail indication on the phone

Message 4 of 24
(11,088 Views)

I have the opposite problem! We switched from Comcast to Verizon and now our light will not stop blinking. Any thoughts?

wdbass99
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-02-2008

Re: no vmail indication on the phone

Message 5 of 24
(11,045 Views)
DITTO HERE BECKEE, IF U GET A FIX LEMME KNOW
ftfaj
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-18-2009

Re: no vmail indication on the phone

Message 6 of 24
(10,818 Views)
My voice mail indicator light was not blinking too, you have to call Verizon Billing and ask them to add it on, i just called and they did it for me.
nmilot
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎01-15-2009

Re: no vmail indication on the phone

Message 7 of 24
(10,722 Views)

Similar problem here.  With comcast my panasonic phone used to display "new voicemail message" on the display screen whenever I had a new message.  This does not seem to work with FiOS.  I've called support twice and they have been no help.  They state that if I have a voicemail and I pick up the phone and receive the "stuttered" dial tone, then everything is set up correctly on their end.

 

I haven't changed any settings on my phone since I got this new service.  Any thoughts?  It's a real pain to have to pick up the phone and listen to the dial tone every time I want to see if I have voicemail.

 

FYI, I have a panasonic KX-TG1033.

 

Thanks.

Carl
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: no vmail indication on the phone

Message 8 of 24
(10,692 Views)

@nmilot wrote:

Similar problem here.  With comcast my panasonic phone used to display "new voicemail message" on the display screen whenever I had a new message.  This does not seem to work with FiOS.  I've called support twice and they have been no help.  They state that if I have a voicemail and I pick up the phone and receive the "stuttered" dial tone, then everything is set up correctly on their end.

 

I haven't changed any settings on my phone since I got this new service.  Any thoughts?  It's a real pain to have to pick up the phone and listen to the dial tone every time I want to see if I have voicemail.

 

FYI, I have a panasonic KX-TG1033.

 

Thanks.


I just called the Verizon phone billing line (for So Cal - 800-483-4000) this afternoon, and within an hour I had visual voicemail indicators on both lines (one POTS on FIOS, and one POTS on Copper). 

Message Edited by Carl on 01-23-2009 09:46 PM
nmilot
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎01-15-2009

Re: no vmail indication on the phone

Message 9 of 24
(10,681 Views)
They didn't give you a hard time?  I've called twice, but they assure me that everything is set up correctly on their end.  I know I haven't changed a thing on my end since I've had comcast.
Carl
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎09-01-2008

Re: no vmail indication on the phone

Message 10 of 24
(10,674 Views)

@nmilot wrote:
They didn't give you a hard time?  I've called twice, but they assure me that everything is set up correctly on their end.  I know I haven't changed a thing on my end since I've had comcast.

Not at all. The guy I spoke was at first unsure about what I was asking for and I did have to tell him that I had phones with voicemial indicator lights. He put me on hold for a minute or so to check. Once he came back, it took a couple of minutes for each line, and he told me to wait for an hour or so. I went to play a round of golf, and upon my return the lights were a blazin'. 

 

The only "lssue" was that the CSR told me I didn't have voicemail on my main line (FiOS). I had to tell him that I do. 

Message Edited by Carl on 01-24-2009 07:55 AM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title