2TB eSATA Drive?
idburns
Enthusiast - Level 3

Does anyone know if the 7216 boxes will support drives larger than 1TB?  I really want to use buy a 2TB drive.

thanks!

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: 2TB eSATA Drive?
greinstein
Enthusiast - Level 3

I have been using a 2tb Iomega drive for a couple of months without problem.

0 Likes
alden
Contributor - Level 1

I have  1TB Toshiba 1tb external drive  with esata, model: PH3100U-1EXBC. Does anybody know is this drive comapatible with 7232 DVR, or I will be forced to buy recommended by Verizon Wetern Digital model HD?

0 Likes
nascar
Master - Level 1
Same 2tb Iomega professional drive here.
@greinstein wrote:

I have been using a 2tb Iomega drive for a couple of months without problem.

0 Likes
prisaz
Legend

@alden wrote:

I have  1TB Toshiba 1tb external drive  with esata, model: PH3100U-1EXBC. Does anybody know is this drive comapatible with 7232 DVR, or I will be forced to buy recommended by Verizon Wetern Digital model HD?

I have read that the drives Verizon specifies are higher speed, and made specificly for AV use. Other drives that run at 7200rpm may work just fine. I have tried to find where I read 5400rpm drives may work for stand alone DVRs, but when you try to run them in a multi-room or multi-hub configuration you will run into issues. I tried to find the most information I could find for your drive, and everything indicated it was a 5400PRM drive. You could possibly go out and find any oem 7200RPM SATA drive and stick it an external case and make it work. But reliability and support may be lacking.

See buying the drive early may not be so bad. I have looked around and inventory has been a bit short.Smiley Wink