Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

6416 and 6200 with 1.9 REALLY slow...

Reply
ak
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎10-10-2008

6416 and 6200 with 1.9 REALLY slow...

Message 1 of 6
(1,020 Views)

Hi all,

  Last night the 1.9 upgrade pushed to my 6416 and 6200.  (Massachusetts)  Everything is frustratingly slow.  In some cases opening the menu, DVR, or On Demand hangs the boxes for a minute or more.  When it doesn't hang moving through menus and screens, changing channels, etc are all significantly slower than 1.8.  (1.8 was no speed demon, but this is noticably worse!)  Anyone else seeing this?  Can anything be done?

 

Thanks all...

 

-ak

5 REPLIES 5
UnnDunn
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎09-28-2010

Re: 6416 and 6200 with 1.9 REALLY slow...

Message 2 of 6
(1,012 Views)

That seems abnormally slow, even for a 6-series box.  I did experience some slowness on my 7232 box for a few hours immediately after 1.9 was loaded on to it last night. It seems you are experiencing the same thing.

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: 6416 and 6200 with 1.9 REALLY slow...

Message 3 of 6
(1,008 Views)

Try to power cycle the boxes?

nascar
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,252
Registered: ‎09-11-2008

Re: 6416 and 6200 with 1.9 REALLY slow...

Message 4 of 6
(981 Views)

I would make the effort to get 7 series boxes.  I know it is not convenient but at times the old hardware just does not cut it with all the new capabilities 1.9 introduces.

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: 6416 and 6200 with 1.9 REALLY slow...

Message 5 of 6
(959 Views)

@nascar wrote:

I would make the effort to get 7 series boxes.  I know it is not convenient but at times the old hardware just does not cut it with all the new capabilities 1.9 introduces.



True, but I have been discouraged to make that statement. Running 1.9 on a QIP-6xxx or 2500 is like XP or Vista on a Pentium 3. IMHO.Smiley Tongue

BurtReynolds
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎06-25-2009

Re: 6416 and 6200 with 1.9 REALLY slow...

Message 6 of 6
(928 Views)

The only way to solve your problem is to get rid of those boxes. 

 

Verizon is really doing a huge disservice to their customers by releasing the 1.9 software when quite a bit of the hardware out in the field cannot handle it.  My 6416 was nearly crippled after getting "upgraded".  I was only able to get a 7216 since my area is apparently wiped out of the newest boxes, but the 7216 performs much better than the 6416. 

 

Now the upgrade "experience" was another thing.  If you go to a store, make sure they do the paperwork right.  It took me 2.5 hours on the phone to get the box activated because the system thought the box was in transit, and that was only because one employee decided to step up and make sure it got fixed.  Before that I was just being transferred everywhere. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.