SD --> HD channel link in guide

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-20-2011

SD --> HD channel link in guide

Message 1 of 7
(16,840 Views)

I know some cable providers have a link in their guide to "watch this program in HD"... which would then shift you to the HD channel equivalent.  I was wondering if VZ had considered this option, adding a "Watch in HD" or "Watch in SD" to easily switch back and forth?  While for the most part the channel listings are farely obvious (where i live it is usually ch. #+500 for the HD channel but it is not always this obvious, and to be honest the search functionality really isn't that great)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: SD --> HD channel link in guide

Message 2 of 7
(16,834 Views)

 


@davidaah wrote:

I know some cable providers have a link in their guide to "watch this program in HD"... which would then shift you to the HD channel equivalent.  I was wondering if VZ had considered this option, adding a "Watch in HD" or "Watch in SD" to easily switch back and forth?  While for the most part the channel listings are farely obvious (where i live it is usually ch. #+500 for the HD channel but it is not always this obvious, and to be honest the search functionality really isn't that great)


It is in IMG 1.9... tune to an SD channel and you a prompt if it has an HD simulcast... hit the C button to switch.  Also on the content info pages... there is an option for watch in SD and HD.

 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: SD --> HD channel link in guide

Message 2 of 7
(16,835 Views)

 


@davidaah wrote:

I know some cable providers have a link in their guide to "watch this program in HD"... which would then shift you to the HD channel equivalent.  I was wondering if VZ had considered this option, adding a "Watch in HD" or "Watch in SD" to easily switch back and forth?  While for the most part the channel listings are farely obvious (where i live it is usually ch. #+500 for the HD channel but it is not always this obvious, and to be honest the search functionality really isn't that great)


It is in IMG 1.9... tune to an SD channel and you a prompt if it has an HD simulcast... hit the C button to switch.  Also on the content info pages... there is an option for watch in SD and HD.

 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: SD --> HD channel link in guide

Message 3 of 7
(16,828 Views)

I am excited about that. I have walked in and asked my wife more than once why she was watching that in SD. Now what was that number? Press C Yippee!

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: SD --> HD channel link in guide

Message 4 of 7
(16,823 Views)

 


@prisaz wrote:

I am excited about that. I have walked in and asked my wife more than once why she was watching that in SD. Now what was that number? Press C Yippee!


Maybe I have been doing this too long... because I just don't get it... SD and HD don't look the same at all... regardless we put it in there... 

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-17-2010

Re: SD --> HD channel link in guide

Message 5 of 7
(16,810 Views)

Will that message show up on SD boxes? I don't want to see the message on my SD box telling me to click C to view the HD channel even though I can't view HD channels on that box.

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: SD --> HD channel link in guide

Message 6 of 7
(16,798 Views)

 


@chewypgh wrote:

Will that message show up on SD boxes? I don't want to see the message on my SD box telling me to click C to view the HD channel even though I can't view HD channels on that box.


No...definitely not... although we did discuss having it... and when you clicked let you upgrade to an HD box... but didn't end up putting that in.

 

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: SD --> HD channel link in guide

Message 7 of 7
(16,795 Views)

 


@chewypgh wrote:

Will that message show up on SD boxes? I don't want to see the message on my SD box telling me to click C to view the HD channel even though I can't view HD channels on that box.


You'll also see we made it a subtle addition to the info bar... doesn't cover up much more of the video than the current info bar...

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.