Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

Reply
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-25-2010

How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

Message 1 of 8
(3,670 Views)

How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

 

I just want to be able to view my bill online, why do I need Windows for that?  The registration SW does not run on Linux from what I can tell.  Help.

7 REPLIES 7
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

Message 2 of 8
(3,636 Views)

Firefox runs just great with all Verizon website, and is available for all Linux distributions. Try the latest Version of Firefox.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all.html if you can not find it in your distribution. I run Firfox by default.

 

Also there is no registration software required. You just need you billing account information if you have never logged in.

https://www22.verizon.com/myverizon/

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-23-2010

Re: How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

Message 3 of 8
(3,239 Views)

Verizon is also asking me to install something called "Verizon Registration Software."

 

It's an executable file. My question is: why is Verizon asking me to install an executable file on my computer. I can't see why this would be necessary. I don't want Verizon bogging down my computer with needless software just to register an account.

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,002
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

Message 4 of 8
(3,183 Views)

You don't say what kind of service you have ... FiOS or DSL?

 

 

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,035
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

Message 5 of 8
(3,164 Views)

#1 If on DSL use http://activatemydsl.verizon.net/

 

#2 If on FIOS use http://activatemyfios.verizon.net/

 

#3 If not on DSL or FIOS, what are you on?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-13-2012

Re: How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

Message 6 of 8
(710 Views)
http://activatemyfios.verizon.net/ says: Troubleshooting : Internet Explorer® Required Internet Explorer® 6.0 or above is required to proceed with the installation. How do I create an account with Linux?
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

Message 7 of 8
(691 Views)

Can't think why you need to run the software at all.


@osho wrote:

How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

 

I just want to be able to view my bill online, why do I need Windows for that?  The registration SW does not run on Linux from what I can tell.  Help.


 

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,035
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: How do I Install Verizon Registration Software on Linux?

Message 8 of 8
(676 Views)

@owenmann wrote:
http://activatemyfios.verizon.net/ says: Troubleshooting : Internet Explorer® Required Internet Explorer® 6.0 or above is required to proceed with the installation. How do I create an account with Linux?

I don't know for sure, but here are some possible answers...

 

#1 Spoof/clone the user agent ?

 

For example with Firefox, there is User Agent Switcher

 

#2 Have a Verizon tech at your house who has a Windows computer:

 

a) Do it for you ?

 

b) You use their computer with their permission ?

 

#3 Get a friend at your house who has a computer running Windows:

 

a) Do it for you ?

 

b) You use their computer with their permission ?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.