Upgraded to FIOS and am being billed by DirecTV for early termination fee?!?!
radhiap
Enthusiast - Level 1

Hello,

I am fairly new to Verizon. My story in a nutshell is this: I signed up with Verizon for the triple play bundle at the end of February. With this bundle came the high-speed enhanced deal, which was incredibily slow and frustrating, and DirecTV, which sucked when it rained a few times.

At the initial sign up, I placed my name on a wait list for FIOS, which I was told would be soon. After several calls to Verizon complaining about the internet problem, I was told it's probably the wiring in the home that is causing the problem.

Then, probably three weeks after, I received a call from a representative informing me that FIOS was available. He asked if I would like to upgrade. I said yes, without hesitation. After being assured by the rep that I would not incur any early termination fee from Verizon or DirecTV because I was not changing from Verizon to another company, we set up an installation date.

Verizon came in did some re-wiring and replaced all the receivers, etc. Everything worked fine...it was all coming together, finally. They handed me the DirecTV equipment and said I have to call DT to return the equipment as they don't take it.

I called DirecTV to return the equipment, spoke with one of their reps and told her why I was returning the equipment. She took the info, spoke with a supervisor and came back on the line to say that her supervisor will disconnect the service after she hung up with me and I should be receiving a kit in the mail to return the equipment. We went over not having to worry about any early termination fees and she said if that was what I was told, then I shouldn't be billed for any. She also said check my account in a few days, and I'll see the disconnect message.