Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Reply
brh
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-21-2011

Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 1 of 33
(5,602 Views)

I've been using Firefox for amny years since it's first release.  Why does Verizon not allow me to log into the forums with Firefox?

 

Bjoern

 

32 REPLIES 32
KaLin
Khoros Partner
Khoros Partner
Posts: 2,739
Registered: ‎09-10-2008

Re: Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 2 of 33
(5,596 Views)

What version of Firefox are you using?  There are many, many users here that log in with Firefox without incident.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer that solved your issue as the accepted solution.

brh
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-21-2011

Re: Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 3 of 33
(5,585 Views)

The latest version 3.6.13. 

 

 

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 4 of 33
(5,566 Views)

 


@brh wrote:

The latest version 3.6.13. 

 


brh,

 

I don't know at this point why you are having trouble with Firefox and the Forums, but I am using 3.6.13, have been using this version for several months, and Firefox at earlier levels for years, and am not having any problem at all using any Verizon site: the Forums, web mail, My Verizon for paying my bill (have been doing it for 3 or so years), and Remote DVR access. I am pretty sure I could access other Verizon functions if I wanted from Firefox, but I have not had any need to.

 

So, your premise is just flat wrong IMHO.

 

Now, tell us what you are trying to do (I know you said logon to the forums, but specifically), what doesn't work, error messages, etc. And probably most important, what Firefox Add-ons you are using, or as an alternative, try running Firefox with no add-ons active, and see what works/doesn't work (assuming you are using Windows, go into programs to the Mozilla Firefox folder and select Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode), bet it will work that way.

 

Give us more info, I bet someone here will be able to help you.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.8, Build 02.54
Keller, TX 76248

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,070
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 5 of 33
(5,561 Views)

#1 Have you tried running a plain vanilla Firefox?

 

I point to http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/safe%20mode

 

#2 If that does not help resolve the issue, what is the OS and Version that you are using? I am using ubuntu 10.04 LTS and it is working fine here.

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Share-Your-Ideas-with-Verizon/Outdated-browser/idc-p/253443#M2493

 

#3 If my first question resolves your issue, it was one or more your Extensions that is blocking you.

 

a) As to which one, trail and error (have only one enabled at a time).

 

b) If not an Extension, then one or more of the other add-ons.

 

^^

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

brh
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-21-2011

Re: Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 6 of 33
(5,536 Views)

Right.  ON the address bar in Firefox, I go to http://forums.verizon.com/ and click on the Sign In link.

 

Now, I get 4 choices:

.  Sign in with a My Verizon Residential User ID and password
.  Create a My Verizon Residential User ID
.  Sign in with my Community Only User ID and password
.  Create a Community Only User ID

I then click on the "Sign in with my Community Only User ID and password" link which opens the typical userid and password fields.

I fill  in my userid and passwrod and click on the "Sign In" button.

The page refreshes and offers me the same four choices shown above.

 

When I do the same with Internet Explorer, it allows me to log in.

 

Bjoern

 

PS, I did try this with Firefox in safe mode.

 

 

ElizabethS
Moderator Emeritus Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 6,227
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 7 of 33
(5,526 Views)

Have you cleared your cache?

brh
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-21-2011

Re: Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 8 of 33
(5,516 Views)

When I selected Firefox in safe mode, I cleared everything.  It was so cleared that I had to restore my Firefox profile.  (Thanks goodnes for FEBE).

 

 

ElizabethS
Moderator Emeritus Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 6,227
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 9 of 33
(5,513 Views)

Has this always been a problem with firefox, or is it recent?  Also, do you have any add ons for FF that could be interfering?

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Why does Verizon discriminate against Firefox?

Message 10 of 33
(5,477 Views)

 


@brh wrote:

Right.  ON the address bar in Firefox, I go to http://forums.verizon.com/ and click on the Sign In link.

 

Now, I get 4 choices:

.  Sign in with a My Verizon Residential User ID and password
.  Create a My Verizon Residential User ID
.  Sign in with my Community Only User ID and password
.  Create a Community Only User ID

I then click on the "Sign in with my Community Only User ID and password" link which opens the typical userid and password fields.

I fill  in my userid and passwrod and click on the "Sign In" button.

The page refreshes and offers me the same four choices shown above.

 

When I do the same with Internet Explorer, it allows me to log in.

 

Bjoern

 

PS, I did try this with Firefox in safe mode.

 


 

OK, thanks for the additional information.

 

1) That is the same link I always use to get to the forums (successfully) using Firefox 3.6.13.

 

2) Ahhh.....unfortunately I have never tried to log in that way, I have a Verizon Residential User ID and always use that. You are not a Verizon residentail customer? Even if you are not, have you tried using that option to see what happens?

 

3) If I accidentally screw up my login the site usually comes back with the same login screen except that it has in small type an error message; you do not get any error message?

 

4) OK, that eliminates Firefox Add-ons.

 

Anybody here have experience logging on using the Community Only User ID with Firefox? I am guessing that the issue is something with that, but I have no clue what it might be. And I guess I can't try to replicate that since I have the residential id.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.8, Build 02.54
Keller, TX 76248

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title