Email session times out after just a few minutes.
josephkovi
Enthusiast - Level 3

I just switched from Comcast to Fios so I’m just learning, but with Comcast I could leave my email open all day in a minimized window and it would be right there for me when I brought it back full size. Now if I’m on another website for just 10 minutes and come back to the email page, it’s timed out. Is there a way to turn that off so it doesn’t time out? Alternatively, is there some way to get notified that a new message has arrived when you are not on the email page?

0 Likes
Re: Email session times out after just a few minutes.
Hubo_VZ
Contributor - Level 2

Unfortunately our current security policy will automatically log you out of your account after 15 minutes of inactivity, there is no way to manipulate this setting.

0 Likes
carolynd11
Contributor - Level 1

that answer is unacceptable and is also **bleep**.  It never used to time out after 15 minutes until this new useless upgrade.  It's very annoying to have to keep on logging back in.  FIX IT!!!!!!!

0 Likes
Holly1
Contributor - Level 3

I've been having that problem more and more,but today I forgot I was still in my webmail page and I got a box with a message that said,"Do you want to stay logged in?" So maybe they are working on fixing this problem

Holly.

0 Likes
SDK-Tampa
Enthusiast - Level 2

James - I still don't understand what you mean by  "inactivity"!  Does "inactivity" mean typing replies, selecting messages for deletion, or scrolling through the inbox????

As an example - I logged into my mailbox and opened the first message - I decided to forward it - I typed a six line introduction to the forwarded message and hit send - session time out message!!! This activity took less than 2 or three minutes!!  Is this "Inactivity"???  Now I have to click the the buttons to get to a new session and the big payoff is that my message to be forwarded is gone!! No draft copy no nothing!!