×

Switch Account

Reset Password on Sub-Account

Reset Password on Sub-Account

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎06-13-2009
Message 1 of 16
(12,182 Views)

Is there a way to reset a sub-account password from the primary account?

 

Account is currently locked.

 

Or is only way to change it is to call verizon, get temp password and then change from within the sub-account.

 

Thanks,

Mark

15 REPLIES 15
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 3,149
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 2 of 16
(12,151 Views)

My response from a previous thread (which I found easily with the SEARCH feature):

You change a forgotten password for a sub account the same way you do for the primary account. There's a "Forgot Password" link that will reset it for you once you answer the Secret Question, or you can contact Technical Support and they can reset it for you. There are several options for getting in touch with someone in Tech Support on the Contact Us page.

As for your actual question, the answer is no. You cannot reset a sub's password from the primary account, but calling tech support is not the only way to reset it.

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-25-2011
Message 3 of 16
(9,785 Views)

I know what it says but this does not work for some users.  Only way is to call Verizon.   It will not find sub-account when you try to login and change password.  whether you search by phone #, username etc.   I also tried enabling admin access on the sub account thinking that was necessary but no dice.

Call Verizon support until they get this working for everyone

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor II Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 3,149
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 4 of 16
(9,679 Views)

@reachme20 wrote:

I know what it says but this does not work for some users.  Only way is to call Verizon.   It will not find sub-account when you try to login and change password.  whether you search by phone #, username etc.   I also tried enabling admin access on the sub account thinking that was necessary but no dice.

Call Verizon support until they get this working for everyone


 

@somegirl wrote:

OK, you guys must be seeing something different than I am.

  • I go to: http://webmail.verizon.net/signin/ and click on: Forgot Your Password?
  • This brings me to a prompt: "Please tell us what you forgot." I select Password and click the Continue button.
  • Next page says "So that we may access your account, enter your Verizon Online User Name and select the Continue button." - I enter the username for my sub and click Continue.
  • I am then prompted to answer my Secret Question and set a new password.

 

Does this somehow work differently for everyone else?

--
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

"All knowledge is worth having."
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-20-2013
Message 5 of 16
(8,379 Views)

I have tried this several different ways. I tried through Yahoo and Verizon. When I tried with Verizon I have a temp code sent. After I entered it, it was for my "main" account, not the sub-account.

 

This is totally frustrating. I have people getting random emails (spam). 

 

THIS IS NOT GOOD!!!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 6 of 16
(8,262 Views)

No it does not work -- every time it resets the primary account password, not the subaccount password.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 7 of 16
(8,256 Views)

@DKUVA wrote:

No it does not work -- every time it resets the primary account password, not the subaccount password.


There is no possibility that, having entered the correct subaccount user name, answered the correct subaccount secret question, and then requested a subaccount password change, that the system will then reset the main account password.

 

Repeat: no possibility.

 

The detailed procedure carefully outlined in post number four in this thread is the correct (and perhaps only) procedure.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-19-2013
Message 8 of 16
(7,825 Views)

I had the same problem resetting my sub account password and I finally had to go to tech support chat and they were able to reset the password after remotely accessing my computer. So it was not an easy fix. It's a glitch in the password reset system. For some reason it defaults back to the main account ID after you answer the reset questions. VERY VERY FRUSTRATING.

 

armond_in_nj you are WRONG

Repeat: WRONG

 

{please keep your posts courteous}

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 631
Registered: ‎12-17-2009
Message 9 of 16
(7,815 Views)

One thing I have noticed after repeatedly seeing this  issue is that some are still using VZ/Yahoo email. I do not (I use a standard verizon account  without sub accounts now but have use subs in the past). I know that SomeGirl's instructions work perfectly in either case for me; but maybe there is an issue with the VZ/Yahoo system.

faulkhugh  when verizon took control of your computer did you notice what was done? Thanks in advance

If a forum member gives an answer you like, please give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem. Thanks !!!
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-net-Email/Fix-for-Missing-Inbox-sent-folders-etc-with-Internet-Explorer-11/m-p/647399
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-05-2014
Message 10 of 16
(7,305 Views)

At least in my case, resetting the subaccount password using the security question and  temp. pin provided does reset the primary account password.  Needs to be resolved via a phone call to tech support.  

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.