Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Reply
gcamacho33
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-21-2011

250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 1 of 10
(1,285 Views)

Hi, I have a pool house that I want to hardwire so I can have a wifi extender in there. The total cable run would be slightly over 250 ft. If I use RG11 coax cable, will I get enough signal at that distance to maintain my gig speed internet? I know RG11 has a much higher stated run length but wanted to make sure it would play nice with my internet speed. Somewhat of a reduction in speed is expected and I would be fine with that. 

9 REPLIES 9
dexman
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-10-2012

Re: 250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 2 of 10
(1,254 Views)

Coaxial cable (RG59, RG6 and RG11) in general won't support full gigabit speed. For that....ethernet cable is needed.

 

Because it is running between buildings, specialized cable will be needed with proper grounding.

 

I would suggest having a low voltage contractor look the situation over and install the cable per code (local & national).

 

Another option might be to consider a wireless link between the two buildings.

gcamacho33
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-21-2011

Re: 250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 3 of 10
(1,232 Views)

I have conduit run between the buildings. It’s not a direct burial. My main router is connected via coax cable and performs fine. Running a 250+ ft Ethernet cable seems like a much worse option since degradation is even more likely to occur.

dexman
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-10-2012

Re: 250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 4 of 10
(1,229 Views)

FiOS gigabit service requires an ethernet connection between the ONT and router.

 

Converters on each end of coaxial cable could also be utilized. Verizon sells them online.

 

Despite having buried conduit, I would still suggest using direct burial cable (water blocked) as water can still get into conduit.

 

There wouldn't be any harm in using RG11 cable so long as the stiffness doesn't pose any problems pulling it though the conduit.

gs0b
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 2,125
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: 250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 5 of 10
(1,201 Views)

Check your main Verizon router again - it must have an Ethernet cable plugged into it's WAN port in order to get gigabit speeds from the ONT.  If not, you're limited to 100Mbps.  I'm guessing you've noticed it also is connected to coax, which is needed for your set-top-boxes.

 

The Verizon routers do create a MoCA LAN on coax.  Depending on the Verizon router model, the max speed available on the coax may not be gigabit.  Post your model number and someone will confirm.  If it isn't a model with gigabit speed, you can purchase an external MoCA adapter to replace the one in the router. 

 

Also consider if you really need gigabit speed in the remote location.  Most WiFi systems will get  you 200-600Mbps reliably.  Which is more than enough speed for most WiFi devices and users.  Unless you're planning on hosting a high speed server on WiFi from remote location, I doubt you really need gigabit speed for anything other than bragging rights.

 

And please consider what dexman said about grounding.  Anytime you run cables between buildings, grounding and lightning protection should be part of the plan.  Without good grounding and surge protection, you'll very likely encounter a rude shock at some time.  If you're not sure how to do this, do some googling and/or contact an expert at running low voltage cables between buildings.

 

dexman
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-10-2012

Re: 250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 6 of 10
(1,181 Views)

Can a picture or two of the ONT be posted for inspection?

 

Note: pictures that are submitted for posting are queued for Moderator approval before appearing out in the open.

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,658
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: 250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 7 of 10
(1,161 Views)

For wire run over 20 feet, I would not use any metal wire. We helped a customer here who has a dangling coax cable outside (remnants of previous cable subscription) hit by lightning. The voltages and amps fried the ONT, router, and switches. The Ethernet cables were also melted.

 

Coax right now can carry 3300Mbps in either direction with MoCA 2.5. MoCA 3.0 allows 10Gbps simplex, except still waiting MaxLinear to produce the silicon.

 

I'd recommend you go with fiber. Gigabit fiber Ethernet media converters are quite cheap these days. FS sells some at $29. If you want multigig media converters, that's expensive.

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 8,008
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: 250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 8 of 10
(934 Views)

Its run in conduit underground.

No risk of lightning strike.

And fiber is quite expensive.

If anything, you can get surge protectors designed for ethernet for additional protection.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
dexman
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-10-2012

Re: 250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 9 of 10
(914 Views)

If the cable inside the conduit is regular CM/CMR/CMP, I would still suggest running one with water block/icky pick due to water can still find its way inside of the conduit and cause problems.

Edg1
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,976
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: 250+ Foot Long Run w/ Gig Speed

Message 10 of 10
(764 Views)

@gcamacho33 wrote:

I have conduit run between the buildings. It’s not a direct burial. My main router is connected via coax cable and performs fine. Running a 250+ ft Ethernet cable seems like a much worse option since degradation is even more likely to occur.


The signal will drop drastically on that RG11. As said already run ethernet or fiber. The ethernet can run about 328 feet. The fiber of course is the best option. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title