Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

SOLVED
Reply
macgig
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎10-03-2009

Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 1 of 10
(6,283 Views)

I have an Actiontec MI424WR. older router but it works fine. I'm not sure the firmware is current or has ever been updated.

 

I found a G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway at a yard sale the other day. is this a newer/better more secure router than the actiontec?

 

also, can I install the new router myself, or must I call verizon for them to do something on their end for the new router to work?

 

thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 8,008
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 2 of 10
(6,268 Views)

It is newer. Probably more secure.

You should be able to install yourself.

Log in to old router.

release dhcp wan address.

immediately power off old router.

then connect up new router.should come up ok.

worst case is to leave router disconnected for 2 hours to clear dhcp before installing new.

 

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 8,008
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 2 of 10
(6,269 Views)

It is newer. Probably more secure.

You should be able to install yourself.

Log in to old router.

release dhcp wan address.

immediately power off old router.

then connect up new router.should come up ok.

worst case is to leave router disconnected for 2 hours to clear dhcp before installing new.

 

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
macgig
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎10-03-2009

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 3 of 10
(6,218 Views)

works great. thanks. didn't have to call verizon. thanks.

 

on my windows 7 laptop, not working yet. asking for a network security key. no idea what that is.

 

also should I login using 2.4G or 5G? no idea what the difference is. thanks again. 🙂

jonjones
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,322
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 4 of 10
(6,211 Views)

@macgig wrote:

works great. thanks. didn't have to call verizon. thanks.

 

on my windows 7 laptop, not working yet. asking for a network security key. no idea what that is.

 

also should I login using 2.4G or 5G? no idea what the difference is. thanks again. 🙂


The network security key is your WiFi password. And this normally is on the sticker of the Quantum router, not master password but WiFi password for your SSID network name. If 5 Ghz is available use that because it faster, however 2.4 Ghz is for farther distances 

macgig
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎10-03-2009

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 5 of 10
(6,209 Views)

works now thanks. 🙂

macgig
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎10-03-2009

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 6 of 10
(6,205 Views)

one other issue/question. I can't get back into admin area of router. wont let me enter a username. that field is greyed out? never happened with the older router. strange.

111.jpg

 

macgig
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎10-03-2009

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 7 of 10
(6,191 Views)

actually im back in now. it seems to save the usernams of "admin". wont let me change it which is odd. on the older router I can change that to whatever I like. oh well. otherwise all seems ok.

jonjones
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,322
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 8 of 10
(6,162 Views)

On that same sticker it’s ADMIN and the master password.

now if the previous owner changed it you can reset it back to original by holding in the reset button in the back for a count of 10.

 

 

jonjones
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,322
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 9 of 10
(6,161 Views)

Glad it’s all ok😀

macgig
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎10-03-2009

Re: Actiontec MI424WR & fios G1100 Fios Quantum Gateway questions

Message 10 of 10
(6,159 Views)

the sticker has an admin password but no login name for the admin.  I just found under "advanced> users" I thought the name admin could be changed. but it wont let me in the settings. I guess as long as the password is not easy to crack I'm ok. 222.jpg

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title