Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, get the incredible iPhone 13 Pro on us. Online only. With select 5G Unlimited plans. Ends 12.5. Buy now
end of navigation menu

Alexa stopped functioning after gigabit upgrade

SOLVED
Reply
Roums5
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-26-2018

Alexa stopped functioning after gigabit upgrade

Message 1 of 5
(3,197 Views)

Alexa was functioning perfectly fine before my gigabit upgrade yesterday. I am still using the same quantum router.  I have done resets and uninstalls of Alexa and still no success for it to work.  I contacted amazon support and they did a check and just heard back that all is correct on amazon side.  They say it is a Fios issue.  Alexa will acknowledge command but no response from cable box to switch channels.  Any reason why the upgrade from 75/75 to gigabit would cause this?  Any recommendations on how to correct?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
d800
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-02-2015

Re: Alexa stopped functioning after gigabit upgrade

Message 5 of 5
(3,014 Views)

I unplugged the fios box and router. Now Alexa can change channels again. Thanks!

 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
JustinG
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 404
Registered: ‎07-29-2015

Re: Alexa stopped functioning after gigabit upgrade

Message 2 of 5
(3,149 Views)

Are you just having issues with using Alexa to control the Verizon TV boxes?

 

Or is it not working at all?

 

If its just the TV boxes giving you trouble, you may want to reboot your TV boxes (physically unplug them and plug them back in, just turning them off from the remote only puts them in a standby mode).

 

AdamHLG
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-03-2018

Re: Alexa stopped functioning after gigabit upgrade

Message 3 of 5
(3,108 Views)

I am having the exact same problem.  After the upgrade I suspect maybe the IP address changed or MAC address of the new router and now Alexa responds and but the channel does not change.  Did you run the troubleshooting widget on the STB?  Did it fail at the ping stage?  

d800
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-02-2015

Re: Alexa stopped functioning after gigabit upgrade

Message 4 of 5
(2,955 Views)

The exact same thing happened to me. I upgraded from 75/75 to gigabit this morning and now Alexa cannot change channels. I've disabled and reenabled the skill. It worked great before the upgrade.

d800
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-02-2015

Re: Alexa stopped functioning after gigabit upgrade

Message 5 of 5
(3,015 Views)

I unplugged the fios box and router. Now Alexa can change channels again. Thanks!

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title