Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, waived smartphone activation fee when you buy online. Limited time offer.
end of navigation menu

Cache Flushing

Reply
Robert145
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-04-2009

Cache Flushing

Message 1 of 7
(10,084 Views)
I notice that its impossible to find someone in IT technical support who can actually help with something technical. Its an ISP issue that need to be addressed. I desigh websites, so I know a little something. I need "technical" support, not something simple. I cant even find someone with web access.
6 REPLIES 6
BrianMcD
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Cache Flushing

Message 2 of 7
(10,049 Views)
So what is your question ???
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Robert145
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-04-2009

Re: Cache Flushing

Message 3 of 7
(10,022 Views)
I do web sites for customers. After I FTP the files & updates to the host, I dont see the new updates. I have to go to megaproxy.com and view the websites there to see the updates just posted. I was told by one of the host technical support leads (godaddy.com) that there are a few ISP's have this issue where they are very delayed in flushing cache and they cant do anything to correct it. It takes some time before the actual updates are visable. In my case, it was days. Its not that I mind going through Megaproxy.com, I was just curious if verizon could eliminate the delay.
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Cache Flushing

Message 4 of 7
(10,013 Views)

Robert,

 

I can't help you find the problem and fix it, but I can tell you that I have been maintaining a website using the FiOS service for 4 years now and have not experienced the problem you describe.

 

What I do have to do consistently though, once I have updated the page(s) on the website, is to access a page higher in the hierarcy first, then access the page(s) I modified, and now I do see the updated pages. I have always attributed this to local cacheing in my PC, but maybe I am wrong and it is a Verizon cache somewhere, but whatever the reason just accessing a higher level page always gets me the updated page the next time I access it. FWIW....

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416, IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248

i_like_turtles
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: Cache Flushing

Message 5 of 7
(10,004 Views)

its not a server problem i believe.

 

that is a computer problem, you clear your cache on your own computer..

 

in internet exploder its in internet options and its called " internet temporary files "

in firefox its in privacy settings and its called " clear cache "

 

also, if all u are doing is clicking foward and back, you arent reloading anything.... try just hitting F5 (refresh) when u are on the old page after you update it via FTP and see if that updates it.

Message Edited by i_like_turtles on 07-08-2009 11:38 AM
... and by the way, i like turtles
Robert145
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-04-2009

Re: Cache Flushing

Message 6 of 7
(10,001 Views)
(excerpt from a forum) Also know that many large ISP's around the country will run cache servers that only clear out at scheduled intervals. This can affect performance regionally and make content fail to show up correctly for your users in these areas where the cache has not cleared for awhile.
Robert145
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-04-2009

Re: Cache Flushing

Message 7 of 7
(10,004 Views)
I have every feature set on all 4 of my browsers & 3 PC's to clear cache and temp files plus some added programs to assist.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title