Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Does verizon care if I cut the copper wire?

Reply
MoopMeep
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-19-2008

Does verizon care if I cut the copper wire?

Message 1 of 6
(7,976 Views)
I had FIOS installed a few months ago. When the tech came out I confirmed at the beginning of the install that he would disconnect the old copper wire, I didn't want it after the FIOS install. At the end of the install the copper wire was still up and when I asked the tech about it he said he doesn't disconnect it, he said that in case FIOS isn't the next big thing that he leaves the copper in case we have to go back. I know that after he installed the FIOS line that the copper wire still worked. I had interent and when he was trying to get the phone hooked up via FIOS he was using the copper wire to talk to some people. I don't really think I need the copper, so I want to get rid of it. I don't mind cutting the wire off the house but what do I do with the wire hanging from the pole? just wrap it around? 
5 REPLIES 5
Adv1sor
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-26-2008

Re: Does Verizon care if I cut the copper wire?

Message 2 of 6
(7,967 Views)

MoopMeep do not just cut the wire yourself. You would be endangering yourself and creating a potentially hazardous condition. Also, you could be charged with damaging Verizon property, a serious offense.

 

Call the number on your bill and ask them to send someone out to disconnect the wire.

CharlesH
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: Does verizon care if I cut the copper wire?

Message 3 of 6
(7,921 Views)
Yeh, don't do that. It is technically verizon's property.
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,159
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Does verizon care if I cut the copper wire?

Message 4 of 6
(7,805 Views)
Now, I am wondering why you would want the copper removed?

In the meantime, as I wait for that reply.

You are aware that:

Once copper is removed to get back on slower DSL speed to save money, it might cost you money?

For example at http://www.broadbandreports.com/shownews/88075

Quick quote

*

When he tried to reconnect POTS service via a competing provider, he was told by Verizon that a new NID would run him $3,000.

*

Hint, hint. Are you sure you would to do that?

http://www.boston.com/business/technology/articles/2007/07/09/fios_users_say_verizon_cuts_copper_wires_cheaper_options/

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

MoopMeep
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-19-2008

Re: Does verizon care if I cut the copper wire?

Message 5 of 6
(7,800 Views)

Using that logic, why not just use dial up?

 

I want to get rid of the copper cable because I am not expecting to downgrade and use dsl. I had dsl and it worked great but FIOS is the future and I am not nostalgic enough to hold onto the old copper wire. That and I don't like the fact that all these wires run from the pole to the house, looks kinda messy. Plus, to be honest, even before I posted the first message I had already removed the NID and some of the wire.

 

I think the verizon tech didn't remove the copper because the install took around 7 hours. I was the first one in the neighborhood to get it installed. The tech said something about the light not being strong enough which I concluded meant that the box down the street wasn't setup properly. So the equipment install was fast but he sat in his truck for a few hours waiting for someone to come and fix the box down the street.

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,159
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Does verizon care if I cut the copper wire?

Message 6 of 6
(7,730 Views)
Thank you, interesting.

I agree with "Adv1sor".

As need be, see http://forums.verizon.com/vrzn/board/message?board.id=My_Account&message.id=648#M648

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title