Download speed drops to 0kbps
hpeskin

So basically I've been having an ongoing issue since the first of june 2014.

I moved into a new apartment on June 1 and started trying to play League of Legends.  Unfortunately, I was constantly getting a ping of 135 m/s. Around June 7 I called up tech support and they told me it was probably just the game I was playing, they told me to do the basic stuff.  Turn off the router, check to make sure you connection is wired (it is before anyone suggests this).

So I started playing a different game, this time I was playing Diablo.  Still got the same problem, 135 m/s every time I was on the game.  This time I called up talked to someone in tech support again.  They told me the problem was likely related to some construction in the area because they ran all the tests on my router and it was all coming up normal.  They told me to wait 48 hours.

48 hours later I called up and complained again.  My speedtest.net was still showing 9 ping 85 dl 35 ul.    They had me go to cmd and run tracert www.leagueoflegends.com.  Quite a few hops were timing out.  They changed the channel I was on and got me a new ip.  They also had me run diagnostics and "optimize my computer".  Nothing helps.  They take about 40 minutes of running tests to tell me they didn't know.

Around this time I stopped being able to download large files.  There was one day in particular where League of Legends had to patch and it went from 2000 kbps to 0 within a minute.  It would stay at 0 until I restarted the client.  I tried other downloads.  Itunes would stop at around 40%.  I tried downloading a new driver for my video card.  Same thing.  Tried downloading a new game, same thing.  The downloads weren't working.  They tried telling me it was my equipment so I was seriously contemplating reformating my computer.