Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

fios quantum gateway router problem

SOLVED
Reply
itzraywhy
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-31-2015

fios quantum gateway router problem

Message 1 of 7
(122,435 Views)

Hello, when I connect my coaxial cable and power adaptor to my old verizon mi424wr router, the internet works fine. But when I connect my coxial cable and the power adapter that came with the fios quantum gateway router, the internet doesn't work. On the router, the internet icon keeps blinking white for about a minute, then it just becomes a solid non-blinking red internet icon. Assisstance would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: fios quantum gateway router problem

Message 2 of 7
(122,401 Views)

Your problem may be that you didn't release your WAN IP address before switching routers.  It's necessary to do so. 

 

To release your IP address you could power off the new router, wait 2 hours, or overnight if that's more convenient, and then power the router back on.

 

Or to release the IP address more quickly, with the Actionec in place, follow the steps in this link:

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/How-am-​I-able-to-change-my-ip-address/m-p/703336#M47733

 

After releasing your WAN IP, wait about 10 minutes and then fire up the Quantum router.  You should have a new WAN IP address and be connected back to the Internet. 

 

 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: fios quantum gateway router problem

Message 2 of 7
(122,402 Views)

Your problem may be that you didn't release your WAN IP address before switching routers.  It's necessary to do so. 

 

To release your IP address you could power off the new router, wait 2 hours, or overnight if that's more convenient, and then power the router back on.

 

Or to release the IP address more quickly, with the Actionec in place, follow the steps in this link:

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/How-am-​I-able-to-change-my-ip-address/m-p/703336#M47733

 

After releasing your WAN IP, wait about 10 minutes and then fire up the Quantum router.  You should have a new WAN IP address and be connected back to the Internet. 

 

 

itzraywhy
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-31-2015

Re: fios quantum gateway router problem

Message 3 of 7
(122,363 Views)

Omg it worked. I would like to say thank you!

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: fios quantum gateway router problem

Message 4 of 7
(122,361 Views)

You're welcome.  Happy to help.

ike71
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎10-26-2014

Re: fios quantum gateway router problem

Message 5 of 7
(122,345 Views)

When I got the new router from Verizon there was no mention on the instructions about  releasing your WAN IP address before switching routers.

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: fios quantum gateway router problem

Message 6 of 7
(122,342 Views)

Sounds like an oversight.  Did just swapping the routers work for you?

ike71
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎10-26-2014

Re: fios quantum gateway router problem

Message 7 of 7
(122,329 Views)

 I just did not want to pay rent. With new Gateway router I sometimes get excellent wireless connections and sometimes I get not so excellent connections, Traffic and location, I guess.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title