Gig speeds, not so much
lapper131
Enthusiast - Level 2

2 weeks since install and receiving approximately half the advertised speeds. 

These speeds are while plugged directly into the Verizon demarc (ONT RJ45 port).

No router in between the computer and Verizon demarc.

Tried multiple computers and multiple Cat 5E jumpers.

All testing computers meet minimum specs listed on Verizon site.

Here is the most powerful (and brand new) machine I've tested with:

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/wRpbgL

Here are today's test results:

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/6487249847

The verizon speedtest always fails:

{edited for privacy}

Tags (3)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Gig speeds, not so much
lapper131
Enthusiast - Level 2

Finally found a solution and I'm finally receiving gig speeds.

The brilliant solution?

I have to use the Verizon Fios G1100 router to receive Gig speeds.

I should preface this by confessing my given profession; I'm a network engineer. I say this because I've spent the last decade of my career ensconsed in routing. I know it inside and out and know that routers NEVER make a WAN connection faster; they can only slow down a WAN connection due to processing overhead.

Each packet traversing the router is encapsulated in a layer 3 header that includes destination IP, source IP, as well as things like header checksum and TTL, which need to be read/processed and stripped away to create a Layer 2 frame to be delivered to an end device. 

But contrary to everything I know about how networks work, The Verizon Fios router makes the WAN connection 50% faster than when using a non Verizon router or no router at all. This makes no sense to me, but I cannot argue with the results.