How best to reach an actual technical support person in 2022 (G1100 router failing ethernet switch)
mdsteveb
Enthusiast - Level 2

I have a problem with my G1100 router (on a gigabit Fios connection).

It has worked fine for years, seemingly 100% reliable. However in the last 3-4 weeks we've been having 2-4 daily incidents where machines on my LAN would lose connectivity for 10-20 minutes at a time (even though all lights looked normal) before things would mysteriously return to working again.

I've been in IT for 30 years. I'm not a network engineer but I know my way around networking, and I also know how painful going through tech support to troubleshoot an intermittent issue like this was going to be. So I've been gathering data and swapping devices and ports around. My home network has a number of switches and a CAT5 run to the other side of the house where I put another wifi AP. Again, this has all worked great for years. Nothing had been changed around the time the problems started. And I just knew that once I started talking to Verizon about it they were going to end up blaming my stuff and making me tear it all apart (again) which was just going to take forever with such an intermittent problem.

My first attempt at getting support through chat was terrible - it ended up as an attempt to up-sell me (to what?? I'm on gigabit already), and when that failed he was certain that a factory reset of my router would fix it. Um, no it didn't.