How do i get a new IP from the pool?
gerald813

Currently I am a computer science student, I have heard that if you leave your modem box (i have a ultraline series 3 model 9100EM) that it will assign you a new ip address.. i looked threw the router options and did not see an option to release or renew the ip. I knew how to do it on my old service but am new to verizon and the system seems to be a little diffferent.. like previous i only had to unplugg the cable modem for like 15 to 20 minutes nd would have a new one.. i do not have a static ip, thanks for any help in advance!

0 Likes
Re: How do i get a new IP from the pool?
Brennoko
Contributor - Level 1

gerald813,

Same thing should work now as with your previous provider for breaking the current lease, but with a dynamic ip it is not certain that you will actually be assigned a new address.

0 Likes
dslr595148
Community Leader
Community Leader
For the Public IP - In Verizon DHCP areas:

Turn off the router and leave it off, for at least two hours. Then turn it back on.

For the Public IP - In PPPoE areas:

Go into the router and press the disconnect button.

Then after a few minutes, press the connect botton.

Where this disconnect/button are in the router, I do not know.

For the NATTED IP, which means of the following IPs:

a) 10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255

b) 172.16.0.0 to 172.31.255.555

c) 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255

^^

Here is my educated guess....

Find the DHCP table of the router.

Then find at least two computers IP Address and MAC Address(es), delete them both from the DHCP table.

Be sure to renew the IP Addresses of both computers. And depending on the order of how you renewed the IP Address, your computer will have another IP.

I have no idea of where the DHCP table is in this router.
0 Likes
cjacobs001
Contributor - Level 3
are we talking about an external IP address or the internal IP address?   WHy not try ipconfig /release,  then ipconfig /renew from the command prompt ?
0 Likes
mattheww50