Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, waived smartphone activation fee when you buy online. Limited time offer.
end of navigation menu

IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

SOLVED
Reply
Gir
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-17-2022

IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 1 of 14
(1,919 Views)

* Right after I posted this I lost IPv6 connectivity. Maybe IPv6 isn't fully working yet.

 

*The reason I have a lot of numbers for letters is because I can't post to this forum with spelling errors. But it does allow words with numbers. Weird.

 

Today I was able to connect via IPv6 from the Wash DC area. (Hyattsvill3)

I need to do a lot more testing, but for those tearing there hair out trying to get this to work, this is how I have configured it.

 

I'm currently running FreshTomat0 2021.3, and will upgrade soon to 2022.3

In Basic-IPv6

IPv6 Service Type DHCPv6 with Prefix Delegation

Prefix Length - 56

Request PD Only - Check this

Add Default route - Uncheck this

Static DNS0 - Leave blank

Accept RA from - WAN only

 

It defaults to LAN 0, but you can enable any others here if you need to.

 

In Advanc3d-DHCP/DNS0

Announce IPv6 on LAN (SLA4C)
Announce IPv6 on LAN (DHCP0)

 

Go back to the Overview.

You should see a IPv6 address in LAN that does not start with fe80

It will not show on WAN, or at least not on my old version.

 

In Ubuntu Linux

In Settings, Network, Wired, click the gear, IPv6

Check Automatic and apply.

Bounce (turn off and on) the interface.

Click the gear again.

It should show an IPv6 address that does not start with fe80

Note: IPv6 seems to take a few minutes, so if it doesn't immediately work, wait a minute and re-open the Details window.

 

Testing: Google 'IPv6 test', and try at least two of them.

I've had one test say it worked and another say it didn't, then later it was okay too.

 

Also: Firefox and Chrome both have internal setting that effect IPv6, so try both if you have trouble with one of them.

 

I'll update this as I learn more. Please feel free to correct anything you think is wrong.

Good luck, and thanks Verizon, I'm much happier now 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Gir
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-17-2022

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 8 of 14
(1,424 Views)

This is a summary of the above, so I could mark it as a solution.

 

I'm currently running FreshTomato 2022.3
In Basic-IPv6
IPv6 Service Type DHCPv6 with Prefix Delegation
Prefix Length - 56
Request PD Only - Check this
Add Default route - Uncheck this
Static DNS - Leave blank
Accept RA from - WAN only
If you have more than one vlan, you'll see the option to include it here.

 

In Advanced-DHCP/DNS
Announce IPv6 on LAN (DHCP)
SLAAC works too, but has security issues.

 

Go back to the Overview.
You should see a IPv6 address in LAN that does not start with fe80 (Link Local)
In the DC area it starts with 2600. It will not show on WAN.

 

In Ubuntu Linux
In Settings, Network, Wired, click the gear, IPv6
Check Automatic and apply. (Auto-DHCP only, works too)
Bounce (turn off and on) the interface.
Click the gear again.
It should show an IPv6 address that does not start with fe80 (Link Local)
Note: IPv6 seems to take about a minute, so if it doesn't immediately work, wait a minute and re-open the Details window.

 

Chrome browsers.
Basically there is nothing to change in Chrome, it just defaults to on.

 

Firefox still has IPv6 settings.
*Remember, don't mess with settings if you don't know what you're doing.

That said, enter 'about:config' into Firefox and accept the responsibility.
search for ipv
This will show you all the IPv4 and IPv6 settings. (mine has 6)
I have mine set this way.

 

network.dns.disableIPv6 -->False
network.dns.ipv4OnlyDomains -->False
network.http.fast-fallback-to-IPv4 -->False
network.notify.IPv6 -->True

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
Gir
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-17-2022

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 2 of 14
(1,881 Views)

My problems now may be all internal, but as I'm still testing thought I'd share.

*Remember if you don't know what IPv6 is, don't do any of this.

 

In Firefox (v101.0.1) enter about:config, and accept responsibility for your actions.

Search for IPv6

network.dns0.disableIPv6 needs to be set for false

Close window.

 

I found some really odd situations while testing.

When you test at https://www.test-ipv6.com/index.html.en_US it'll pass, and so will other IPv6 sites. But after a few seconds IPv6 will stop working, repeating the test brings it back up again. I don't understand, but maybe someone else does?

 

http://v6.testmyipv6.com/ will only work if IPv6 is completely working.

In Firefox https://ipv6-test.com/pingtest/ does not work at all.

In Chrome it does work, and is a great way to see when it's up or down.

When it's working https://ipv6-test.com/ will pass everything but h0stname. I doubt that's important.

Gir
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-17-2022

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 3 of 14
(1,707 Views)

I think I found my main problem.

When I use the following

tail -f /var/log/syslog

it shows that the DNS servers want UDP+EDNS0, but allow it wrong and only for a short time.

My next step is to upgrade from Ubuntu 21.10 to 22.04 and see if that works.

Gir
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-17-2022

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 4 of 14
(1,611 Views)

It all works great now. My problem was the router. After I upgraded it, stable, stable.

 

All the settings above are correct. I'd recommend turning off SLA4C in the DNS/DHCP setting on the router, because I've read it has security issues, and DHCP seems to work just fine without it.

 

My ultimate goal is to turn off IPv4 completely, but found some web sites are still IPv4 only, like Twitch. So to just allow specific sites to use IPv4 might be the best I can hope for.

 

Because I'm using the Fresh Tomato router as my DNS resolver, I pushed all the DNS requests to it by setting the DNS to static in Linux, and used the address (not the fe80) of the router. I also turned off all the IPv4 only DNS servers in the router, and only selected the v6 ones. They also have the v4 addressing, but I think the others that are not v6 specifically are maybes.

Gir
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-17-2022

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 5 of 14
(1,604 Views)

Chrome and Firefox browsers.

Basically there is nothing to change in Chrome, it just defaults to on.

Firefox still has the settings.

*Remember, don't mess with settings if you don't know what you're doing.

That said, enter 'about:config' into Firefox and accept the responsibility.

search for ipv

This will show you all the IPv4 and IPv6 settings. (mine has 6)

I have mine set this way.

network.dns.disableIPv6       -->False

network.dns.ipv4OnlyDomains       -->False

network.http.fast-fallback-to-IPv4       -->False

network.notify.IPv6       -->True

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,198
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 6 of 14
(1,514 Views)

@Gir wrote:

After I upgraded it, stable, stable.

 


When you upgraded, I take it you upgraded the NAT router's firmware. If is not correct, please post.

 


@Gir wrote:

 

but found some web sites are still IPv4 only, like Twitch.


 

No kidding at this time as most sites are still on IPv4 only.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Gir
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-17-2022

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 7 of 14
(1,487 Views)

Sorry I wasn't clear.

I upgraded my Fresh Tomato router with the latest firmware 2022.3.

Fresh Tomato is a replacement for the Netgear firmware, that allows much more functionality. Before upgrading the router, I built a new desktop with the latest Ubuntu version, but still had problems. The router firmware likely wasn't the problem as much as my mucking around with the internal settings.

 

I'm sure you are correct on that assessment, even without Googling it first. This was the first time I was able to see how many sites I care about that weren't IPv6 compliant. I would have assumed all the major sites would already be there. I was even more surprised that some IPv6 test sites wouldn't work if you were IPv6 only. I installed a plug in for Firefox that tells me which sites are v4 and/or v6.

 

Note: NAT is not required for IPv6. NAT was a kludge to extend IPv4 that was running out of addresses and necessitated IPv6. My point being "NAT router" might be a generic term in IPv4 routers, but is just wrong and misleading for IPv6.

Gir
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-17-2022

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 8 of 14
(1,425 Views)

This is a summary of the above, so I could mark it as a solution.

 

I'm currently running FreshTomato 2022.3
In Basic-IPv6
IPv6 Service Type DHCPv6 with Prefix Delegation
Prefix Length - 56
Request PD Only - Check this
Add Default route - Uncheck this
Static DNS - Leave blank
Accept RA from - WAN only
If you have more than one vlan, you'll see the option to include it here.

 

In Advanced-DHCP/DNS
Announce IPv6 on LAN (DHCP)
SLAAC works too, but has security issues.

 

Go back to the Overview.
You should see a IPv6 address in LAN that does not start with fe80 (Link Local)
In the DC area it starts with 2600. It will not show on WAN.

 

In Ubuntu Linux
In Settings, Network, Wired, click the gear, IPv6
Check Automatic and apply. (Auto-DHCP only, works too)
Bounce (turn off and on) the interface.
Click the gear again.
It should show an IPv6 address that does not start with fe80 (Link Local)
Note: IPv6 seems to take about a minute, so if it doesn't immediately work, wait a minute and re-open the Details window.

 

Chrome browsers.
Basically there is nothing to change in Chrome, it just defaults to on.

 

Firefox still has IPv6 settings.
*Remember, don't mess with settings if you don't know what you're doing.

That said, enter 'about:config' into Firefox and accept the responsibility.
search for ipv
This will show you all the IPv4 and IPv6 settings. (mine has 6)
I have mine set this way.

 

network.dns.disableIPv6 -->False
network.dns.ipv4OnlyDomains -->False
network.http.fast-fallback-to-IPv4 -->False
network.notify.IPv6 -->True

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,770
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 9 of 14
(1,359 Views)

I am in NYCMA, so I will be the last among the subscribers who will get IPv6 in this round of rollout.

Hopefully other CLs (especially those who are networking and Linux experts) in Philly and MA regions will get IPv6 soon. It is rare to see expert users like you around here. Last time I found an expert user was probably 3 months ago. That person figured out G3100's Guest Network has a VLAN ID of 10, and with the aid of layer 3 switches, the Guest Net can be extended to wired devices and overcame the 10 device limits on the wireless association.

 

I got a Pi, a Cisco SMB router, a Cisco SMB 300 managed switch, an assortment of NICs, and a little free time. When it is time for me to get IPv6, I could definitely duplicate the setup elaborated here and exchange any observations and thoughts.

Gir
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-17-2022

Re: IPv6 Fios Fresh Tomato and Ubuntu Linux

Message 10 of 14
(1,307 Views)

I assume you're using the PI for DNS filtering. I've been tempted to try that, but the Tomato software handles a lot of DNS features, like DNSSEC and DNS-over-TLS. Also uses a bunch of adblock like filtering. All v4 traffic is intercepted and handled by the router. That said, if you have any interest, I'd recommend the Netgear R7000 (not the R7000P) and nmrpflash to recover the router when it bricks. I've used that software to unbrick R7000 routers that were sold on ebay at bricked prices. You have to do it twice for it to work. That router has twice the memory that you need.

 

Because you mentioned vlans, it also supports multiple vlans, and multiple WIFI's. So you can have, for example, three different WIFI logins, each on it's own vlan, and have one just reach the internet normally, another that goes out a VPN, and one that only touches an internal private vlan. Pretty much whatever you would want any router to do, it already can. I really don't miss Cisco or my headaches. The only downside is you can't transfer the old config to a new version, you have to manually reconfigure the whole thing.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title